Cleaned Point Cloud with photos in Recap ???

Discuss all Leica Cyclone, Cyclone REGISTER 360 & Cyclone FIELD 360 software here.
Post Reply
Damien3D
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:11 am
6
Full Name: Damien Sautarel
Company Details: Planet3D Engineering
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Cleaned Point Cloud with photos in Recap ???

Post by Damien3D »

Hi,

I'm trying to export my cleaned point cloud to Recap with photos.
I believe I've tried everything but I must still be missing something...

Tried the following with both "export cleaned point cloud" and "E57 Recap option" checked in the export settings:
- export to RCP (cloud) >> cleaned, no photos >> NOK
- export to RCP (setups) >> uncleaned, photos >> NOK
- export to E57 (cloud, unified) >> cleaned, no photos >> NOK
- export to E57 (cloud, structured) >> uncleaned, photos >> NOK
- export to E57 (setups) >> uncleaned, photos >> NOK
- export to PTG >> uncleaned, no photos >> NOK

Is there anything else you think I could try ?
Is this a known issue in Reg360 ?

Thanks for your help !

Damien
User avatar
Justin Richards
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2021 9:03 pm
3
Full Name: JUSTIN RICHARDS
Company Details: Tribrach Solutions
Company Position Title: Survey Tech
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Re: Cleaned Point Cloud with photos in Recap ???

Post by Justin Richards »

Open "- RCP (setups) >> uncleaned, photos" in ReCap, select all the points and delete them. That should leave you with just the photos. Now import "RCP (cloud) >> cleaned, no photos" to the same project and that should bring in cleaned up points to your photos"
Damien3D
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:11 am
6
Full Name: Damien Sautarel
Company Details: Planet3D Engineering
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Cleaned Point Cloud with photos in Recap ???

Post by Damien3D »

Thanks,

That's the way I have done it but I'm not happy with this because:
1 - you shouldn't have to do it :D
2 - you don't get the data per setup like you should (one rcs file per setup) only a unified point cloud

BR
Damien
User avatar
gordonired
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 4:27 pm
7
Full Name: Gordon
Company Details: Roska DBO
Company Position Title: GIS Coordinator
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Alberta
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Cleaned Point Cloud with photos in Recap ???

Post by gordonired »

Justin Richards wrote: Wed May 01, 2024 8:19 pm Open "- RCP (setups) >> uncleaned, photos" in ReCap, select all the points and delete them. That should leave you with just the photos. Now import "RCP (cloud) >> cleaned, no photos" to the same project and that should bring in cleaned up points to your photos"
I think I saw this mentioned in a thread a month or two ago. The hours and hours it would have saved me a few years back when I was struggling with this same question boggles my mind, and further fuels my hatred of autodesk products.
badam
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 949
Joined: Tue May 11, 2021 5:36 pm
3
Full Name: Adam Berta
Company Details: InnoScan 3D Hungary Kft
Company Position Title: unknown
Country: Hungary
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 313 times
Contact:

Re: Cleaned Point Cloud with photos in Recap ???

Post by badam »

gordonired wrote: Thu May 02, 2024 2:23 pm
Justin Richards wrote: Wed May 01, 2024 8:19 pm Open "- RCP (setups) >> uncleaned, photos" in ReCap, select all the points and delete them. That should leave you with just the photos. Now import "RCP (cloud) >> cleaned, no photos" to the same project and that should bring in cleaned up points to your photos"
I think I saw this mentioned in a thread a month or two ago. The hours and hours it would have saved me a few years back when I was struggling with this same question boggles my mind, and further fuels my hatred of autodesk products.
Well this is the official method to subsample with mirrorballs in recap since 2016 :mrgreen: .

https://www.autodesk.com/support/techni ... q6VaC.html

Just to give you another maybe solution export structured e57 setups, disable the recap option in the settings menu.

It will be cleaned there won't be panorama photos but instead there will be recap generated point cloud mirror balls. So it is an inbetween solution i suppose.
Damien3D
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:11 am
6
Full Name: Damien Sautarel
Company Details: Planet3D Engineering
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Cleaned Point Cloud with photos in Recap ???

Post by Damien3D »

Thanks for the suggestions guys!
Unfortunately my client really wants his photos in the Recap file.

Anybody knows if this is a known issue in REGISTER 360+ ?

It is quite frustrating to have the check box saying it will do exactely what you need and it doesn't... :x

Any help from the Leica team would be appreciated ;)
mrhunt
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 2:15 pm
7
Full Name: Michael H
Company Details: CFM
Company Position Title: Senior Surveyor
Country: NB Canada
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Cleaned Point Cloud with photos in Recap ???

Post by mrhunt »

Are you right clicking on the registered scan world and selecting export to Recap? This is the only way I can export photos.
Damien3D
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:11 am
6
Full Name: Damien Sautarel
Company Details: Planet3D Engineering
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Cleaned Point Cloud with photos in Recap ???

Post by Damien3D »

I'm actually using Register 360 and not Cyclone Core ...
User avatar
Carbix
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 250
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2019 1:36 am
5
Full Name: Daniel Loney
Company Details: Excelsior Measuring
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

Re: Cleaned Point Cloud with photos in Recap ???

Post by Carbix »

Damien3D wrote: Sun May 05, 2024 7:59 pm I'm actually using Register 360 and not Cyclone Core ...
Dont decimate
Daniel Loney - Owner
Excelsior Measuring inc.
Vancouver - Okanagan - Calgary
www.ExcelsiorLevel.com
Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone, Cyclone REGISTER 360 & Cyclone FIELD 360”