Rhino 7- Using QuadRemesh to Reverse Engineer a Scan

Discuss all Rhino3D related issues here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Mike Annear
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 662
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 5:45 am
Full Name: Mike Annear
Company Details: Mike Annear
Company Position Title: 3D Modeler
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: On an island off Brisbane ...
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 97 times
Contact:

Rhino 7- Using QuadRemesh to Reverse Engineer a Scan

Post by Mike Annear »

Hi, I keep getting asked how to do this, luckily someone else has already made a video on the subject.
The video is a bit outdated now, but the key steps are the same.
If you are working from a pointcloud, just mesh it first in CloudCompare or Meshlab.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EDd2wcTKWgE

Mike.
Mike Annear
www.mikeannear.com
QLD, Australia.
User avatar
Bohdan gutnyk
I have made 30-40 posts
I have made 30-40 posts
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2019 10:17 am
Full Name: Bohdan Gutnyk
Company Details: 3dm company in kiev
Company Position Title: 3dm
Country: Ukraine
Skype Name: bohdangutnyk
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: Rhino 7- Using QuadRemesh to Reverse Engineer a Scan

Post by Bohdan gutnyk »

Thanks Mike for sharing helpful videos.
I try to make a model of MIG29 airplane when I have free time and learn Rhino a little. I usually use AutoCAD for 3D modeling of ships or other irregular surfaces, but I found Rhino to be more suitable for this purpose. So far, I haven't gone any further with sectioning and lofting them. I can try to make a mesh in a cloudcompare, but it seems to me that the result will not be very good, given that the point cloud I have is without normals. If you have any other helpful videos I would be very grateful!
This is what i am trying to do:
Image
User avatar
Mike Annear
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 662
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 5:45 am
Full Name: Mike Annear
Company Details: Mike Annear
Company Position Title: 3D Modeler
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: On an island off Brisbane ...
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 97 times
Contact:

Re: Rhino 7- Using QuadRemesh to Reverse Engineer a Scan

Post by Mike Annear »

Hi Bodhan,
Nice work, it looks like you are on the right track.
Have you looked at "LoftSubD" (new in V7) instead of standard Loft ?
The new SubD modeling methods are soooo much quicker and easier than the old Rhino NURBS Methods.
The Mesh,
When you create a mesh with CloudCompare you have to generate normals first.
in CC ..."Edit, Normals, Compute,
then, under Surface Approximation, use the "Triangulation Option"
Then go to Plugins, Poisson Recon to make a mesh.
Use "Output Density as SF", and run it.
You can then use the Scalar field slider to trim the mesh back to the pointcloud.
I hope this helps,
Mike.
Mike Annear
www.mikeannear.com
QLD, Australia.
Post Reply

Return to “Rhino3D”