Decimate pointcloud with Register 360

Discuss all Cyclone Leica Cyclone, Field 360 & Register 360 related issues here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Mike Annear
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 558
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 5:45 am
Full Name: Mike Annear
Company Details: Mike Annear
Company Position Title: 3D Modeler
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: On an island off Brisbane ...
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 46 times
Contact:

Decimate pointcloud with Register 360

Post by Mike Annear »

Hi all,
I have a client that is sending me pointclouds from Register 360, they are pretty huge.
I am trying to get them to reduce the pointcloud density down to about 3mm point spacing before sending me the E.57 working scan.

I don't have access to Register 360, I do most of my pointcloud wrangling in Cyclone or CloudCompare.

I am assuming they can decimate the pointcloud in Register 360 before exporting as an E.57,
Does anyone have a link to that procedure ? (help file etc)

Regards,
Mike.
Mike Annear
www.mikeannear.com
QLD, Australia.
Yuelin
I have made 90-100 posts
I have made 90-100 posts
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 5:16 am
Full Name: Yuelin
Company Details: Leica Geosystems
Company Position Title: Lead software engineer
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Decimate pointcloud with Register 360

Post by Yuelin »

Hi Mike,

It's not possible to decimate point cloud with Reg360 for now. You can set point cloud encoding spacing to whatever you want and import the data from Reg360 into Cyclone and then export to E57.

Hope it helps,
Yuelin
User avatar
Mike Annear
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 558
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 5:45 am
Full Name: Mike Annear
Company Details: Mike Annear
Company Position Title: 3D Modeler
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: On an island off Brisbane ...
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 46 times
Contact:

Re: Decimate pointcloud with Register 360

Post by Mike Annear »

Thanks Yuelin,
Aha, that explains their frustration :)

I will send them a CloudCompare workflow for pointcloud subsampling.
Regards,
Mike.
Mike Annear
www.mikeannear.com
QLD, Australia.
User avatar
Carbix
Forum Supporter
Forum Supporter
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2019 1:36 am
Full Name: Daniel Loney
Company Details: Excelsior Measuring
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 23 times
Contact:

Re: Decimate pointcloud with Register 360

Post by Carbix »

Recap pro also has a simple work flow.
Daniel Loney - Owner
Excelsior Measuring inc.
Vancouver - Okanagan - Calgary
www.ExcelsiorLevel.com
User avatar
Mike Annear
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 558
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 5:45 am
Full Name: Mike Annear
Company Details: Mike Annear
Company Position Title: 3D Modeler
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: On an island off Brisbane ...
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 46 times
Contact:

Re: Decimate pointcloud with Register 360

Post by Mike Annear »

CloudCompare is free.
(Though anyone using it should donate to the author ...Daniel !)

I ended up sending my client a simple Batch file to subsample (decimate) his pointcloud using CloudCompare.
it goes like this ... (Thanks again Daniel for your sample code page)

Pointcloud subsample.

::The batch file assumes the pointcloud is called "Pointcloud.e57" and is placed in a folder called C:\Pointclouds.
::The output file will apply spatial subsampling with a 0.003 step (e.g. in meters).
::The output file will be called Pointcloud_SPATIAL_SUBSAMPLED_YYYY-MM-DD_HHhMM.bin.



echo on
:: Change path to cloudcompare.exe

set PATH=%PATH%;C:\Program Files\CloudCompare\

:: Run the Subsample Function

CloudCompare -AUTO_SAVE ON -O C:\Pointclouds\Pointcloud.e57 -SS SPATIAL 0.003

@pause

:: -SILENT
Mike Annear
www.mikeannear.com
QLD, Australia.
Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone, Field 360 & Register 360”