Create orthophotos

Discuss all FARO SCENE related software issues here.
User avatar
MaZschi
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 12:26 pm
4
Full Name: Marc Zschieschang
Company Details: FARO Europe GmbH
Company Position Title: Product Manager - Software
Country: Germany
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Create orthophotos

Post by MaZschi »

Just in case you don't want to wait for the next SCENE version you can download here the updated version of the Orthoimage App: https://knowledge.faro.com/Software/FAR ... _for_SCENE

Feedback if the new version solved your problem would be very much appreciated. Thank you :)
Marc Zschieschang
Product Markting Manager - Software
FARO Technologies, Inc.
[email protected]
User avatar
robjlg
I have made 30-40 posts
I have made 30-40 posts
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 11:18 am
2
Full Name: Roberto João Lopes Garcia
Company Details: Laser scanning services
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: BRAZIL
Skype Name: robjlg
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Create orthophotos

Post by robjlg »

MaZschi wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 3:01 pm Short update: we have identified a bug in the current Orthoimage App (2.1.3). The bug is fixed and the new App version (2.1.4) will be rolled out with SCENE 2021.3 released in October.
Marc, I have installed Scene 2021.3.0.8238 in my Laptop and also in a workstation. In the laptop, on the standard user interface the icon for the Orthoimage App appears and the application can be used on the standard user interface.

On the workstation, the icon does not appear on the standard user interface !

Very strange! Is it possible to reinstall the Orthoimage App in order to fix this? Can it's last version be downloaded from where?

Thank you

PS. This problem is also on the last Scene version: 2021.4.0.8610

Roberto
Raimund58
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 8:23 am
3
Full Name: Raimund Klink
Company Details: IHM engineering GmbH
Company Position Title: 3d scanning guy
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 135 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Create orthophotos

Post by Raimund58 »

robjlg wrote: Mon Jan 10, 2022 2:37 pm
MaZschi wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 3:01 pm Short update: we have identified a bug in the current Orthoimage App (2.1.3). The bug is fixed and the new App version (2.1.4) will be rolled out with SCENE 2021.3 released in October.
Very strange! Is it possible to reinstall the Orthoimage App in order to fix this? Can it's last version be downloaded from where?
2022-01-10 16_08_19-Window.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
\o/
FlorianF
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2022 10:22 am
Full Name: Fau
Company Details: ATIS
Company Position Title: specialist
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Create orthophotos

Post by FlorianF »

Hi Emanuele,

You can use ATIS.cloud to generate an orthophoto.

Check feature below in help center:

https://webapp.atis.cloud/help/article/50
Emanuele
I have made 50-60 posts
I have made 50-60 posts
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:31 am
6
Full Name: Emanuele Ferrari
Company Details: Studio FERRARI
Company Position Title: Titolare
Country: Italia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Castellamonte (TO)
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Create orthophotos

Post by Emanuele »

FlorianF wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:52 am Hi Emanuele,

You can use ATIS.cloud to generate an orthophoto.

Check feature below in help center:

https://webapp.atis.cloud/help/article/50
Thanks, I try it
User avatar
landmeterbeuckx
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1057
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 5:19 pm
9
Full Name: Lieven Beuckx
Company Details: Studiebureau Beuckx
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Belgium
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 90 times
Been thanked: 251 times

Re: Create orthophotos

Post by landmeterbeuckx »

I create ortho's mainly with Pointcab but for high res i use Nubigon. This goes very fast.

Check out this jpg which comes from a 462MB tif
https://e1.pcloud.link/publink/show?cod ... bXb4CKQfDV
LSBbvba
Surveying services - 3D Laserscanning
Tel : +32477753126
www.lsbbvba.be
[email protected]
User avatar
robjlg
I have made 30-40 posts
I have made 30-40 posts
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 11:18 am
2
Full Name: Roberto João Lopes Garcia
Company Details: Laser scanning services
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: BRAZIL
Skype Name: robjlg
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Create orthophotos

Post by robjlg »

robjlg wrote: Mon Jan 10, 2022 2:37 pm
MaZschi wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 3:01 pm Short update: we have identified a bug in the current Orthoimage App (2.1.3). The bug is fixed and the new App version (2.1.4) will be rolled out with SCENE 2021.3 released in October.
Marc, I have installed Scene 2021.3.0.8238 in my Laptop and also in a workstation. In the laptop, on the standard user interface the icon for the Orthoimage App appears and the application can be used on the standard user interface.

On the workstation, the icon does not appear on the standard user interface !

Very strange!
I have found what makes this strange behavior: On the laptop, the Orthophoto App was an old one (1.2.3.0). I don't know how it happened but it explains the different behavior and also explain why I was not able to replicate the problem originally described by Emanuele.

2022-01-12 15_24_32-Apps.png

But one question remains, why the last version of the Orthophoto App does not run on the standard user interface any more?

I use both interfaces. For some tasks I prefer the standard one. To adjust the clipping box and the visibility settings for the orthophoto generation is one of those. Now it become a tedious task to change the user interface and change again to App menu just to call the Orthophoto App that was right there in a very accessible icon.

I like SCENE and the Orthophoto App but changes that break existing workflows are very very bad and unpleasant.

Marc, do you think FARO could program it to work again in both users interface?

Thank you

Roberto
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
MaZschi
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 12:26 pm
4
Full Name: Marc Zschieschang
Company Details: FARO Europe GmbH
Company Position Title: Product Manager - Software
Country: Germany
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Create orthophotos

Post by MaZschi »

robjlg wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 6:58 pm Marc, do you think FARO could program it to work again in both users interface?
Hi,
I need to check what is the root cause for this behavior with R&D. I will come back here soon with a reply.

Best regards,
Marc
Marc Zschieschang
Product Markting Manager - Software
FARO Technologies, Inc.
[email protected]
Post Reply

Return to “FARO SCENE”