Leica RTC360 - Problems Importing to REGISTER 360

To chat about anything else.
Post Reply
Eamonmac
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:20 pm
1
Full Name: Eamon Mac Auliffe
Company Details: Ncwsurveys Ltd
Company Position Title: Operations manager
Country: Ireland
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 23 times

Leica RTC360 - Problems Importing to REGISTER 360

Post by Eamonmac »

TUESDAY 25/05/21

Hey all -

I have an issue importing RAW RTC360 scan data into REGISTER 360 that I'm pretty sure was caused by me. I (stupidly) changed the name of the RAW file on the USB stick from whatever oddball name was assigned to the project by the RTC360 from say "21-124 St Marys NS-9Fr0T" to "21-124 St Marys NS-08&150521" just to date it chronologically on the USB stick thinking that I was doing a good thing.

Now I'm thinking that the "-9Fr0T" at the end of the filename (or whatever it was, I'm just using this as an example) was important as Im getting nowhere fast.

Now when I try to import the RAW files from those dates (08th & 15th May - combined) I get an error message in REG 360 saying "Failed to add the following files: 21-124 St Mary’s School – 08&150521 – Some files did not import because they are not supported. Please see the help section for all supported files formats.
Can anyone back up that the file name change is the issue and if so, how do I fix this issue ??
I havent contacted the Leica HDS support unit yet as I was hoping to get the answer on here before I contact them or is that another stooopid idea ??
Thanks all

Emc


THURSDAY 27/05/21

UPDATE - I renamed the main file folder to a much simpler format and copied it to my desktop so that there is no long directory structure reading from our Network storage.

So, this fixed the issue. Thanks for all your individual messages of advice

Cheers

Emc
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Eamonmac on Thu May 27, 2021 10:53 pm, edited 2 times in total.
jamesworrell
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 445
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:45 pm
7
Full Name: James Worrell
Company Details: Bennett and Francis
Company Position Title: Director
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Been thanked: 56 times
Contact:

Re: Leica RTC360 - Problems Importing to REGISTER 360

Post by jamesworrell »

Try removing the single quote from the folder name - or change to plain old '

So change to "St Marys" for example.

The RTC (or perhaps more correctly the Field app) puts in a fancy unicode single quote that Windows doesn't like .. for example you can't zip the folder in the normal UI.

Leica know about it.
elsonj
I have made 30-40 posts
I have made 30-40 posts
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 4:35 pm
4
Full Name: James Elson
Company Details: SCCS
Company Position Title: HDS Support
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: Leica RTC360 - Problems Importing to REGISTER 360

Post by elsonj »

Hello,

Have you tried dropping the "project.rtc360" file into same folder as the RAW data folder (not within RAW folder with setup data) then dropping .rtc360 file into Register360 import area?

Regards

James
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
badam
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue May 11, 2021 5:36 pm
Full Name: Adam Berta
Company Details: InnoScan 3D Hungary Kft
Company Position Title: unknown
Country: Hungary
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

Re: Leica RTC360 - Problems Importing to REGISTER 360

Post by badam »

Do you have any special chars in the path to your files?

If you do then rename. rtc360 import not works with éáőóä, etc chars in the path.

Do you try to import from network location?
If so then do NOT use unc path like \\server\sharename\path\to\the\directory, You can import from mounted drives as those are works like any other drive in your machine...

Both issues above generate exactly the same error message what you see.

project.rtc360 file is not required at all. And that is only an empty file.
cpw006
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 3:51 am
14
Full Name: Chris Widmer
Company Details: LAS
Company Position Title: 3D Scanning Manager
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Leica RTC360 - Problems Importing to REGISTER 360

Post by cpw006 »

You should have two files inside the folder that contains your scan files. Open the file with the crazy characters shown in my attached image with notepad. You should see where it says Name=. Rename your folder to this name and try to import the data. This has worked for me.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
badam
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue May 11, 2021 5:36 pm
Full Name: Adam Berta
Company Details: InnoScan 3D Hungary Kft
Company Position Title: unknown
Country: Hungary
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

Re: Leica RTC360 - Problems Importing to REGISTER 360

Post by badam »

cpw006 wrote: Wed May 26, 2021 4:31 pm You should have two files inside the folder that contains your scan files. Open the file with the crazy characters shown in my attached image with notepad. You should see where it says Name=. Rename your folder to this name and try to import the data. This has worked for me.
Yesterday I tried to rename a directory you can rename the main directory to anything, unless it is not contains any special chars. I think you can rename the "project" manually if you change the Name parameter in the mentioned file, but i didn't tried that out... I'll and response back.
SCarbo
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2020 6:59 pm
1
Full Name: Samm Carbo
Company Details: Major Power Company
Company Position Title: Geospatial Engineer
Country: US
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Leica RTC360 - Problems Importing to REGISTER 360

Post by SCarbo »

Hello everyone,

I'm having the same problem mentioned above. I've renamed the folder but still having problems with the data importing. Was this the resolution that worked for you?

Also, sorry for digging up an older post.

Thanks,

Samm
badam
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue May 11, 2021 5:36 pm
Full Name: Adam Berta
Company Details: InnoScan 3D Hungary Kft
Company Position Title: unknown
Country: Hungary
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

Re: Leica RTC360 - Problems Importing to REGISTER 360

Post by badam »

SCarbo wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 2:11 pm Hello everyone,

I'm having the same problem mentioned above. I've renamed the folder but still having problems with the data importing. Was this the resolution that worked for you?

Also, sorry for digging up an older post.

Thanks,

Samm
look at your log file, but i'm sure it is not importing, because, you have unicode char in the directora path, or you are trying to import from UNC path.

Code: Select all

%programdata%\Leica Geosystems\logs\Register360_log.txt
SCarbo
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2020 6:59 pm
1
Full Name: Samm Carbo
Company Details: Major Power Company
Company Position Title: Geospatial Engineer
Country: US
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Leica RTC360 - Problems Importing to REGISTER 360

Post by SCarbo »

badam wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 2:30 pm look at your log file, but i'm sure it is not importing, because, you have unicode char in the directora path, or you are trying to import from UNC path.

Code: Select all

%programdata%\Leica Geosystems\logs\Register360_log.txt
Thank you, I'll give that a shot and respond.
SCarbo
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2020 6:59 pm
1
Full Name: Samm Carbo
Company Details: Major Power Company
Company Position Title: Geospatial Engineer
Country: US
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Leica RTC360 - Problems Importing to REGISTER 360

Post by SCarbo »

My log file has not been updated since April 2020. We just tried a new scan which imported without an issue.
Post Reply

Return to “General Chat”