Faro quality setting

Faro S150, S350, X30, X130, X130HDR, X330, X330HDR, M70, Trimble X7, Leica RTC360, HDS6*00, HDS7000, Z+F IMAGER 5016, 5010X, 5010C, 5006H, 5006EX & PROFILER 9012 etc
Post Reply
byoder24
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 7:13 pm
Full Name: Ben Yoder
Company Details: WeWork
Company Position Title: Senior Reality Capture Specialist
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Faro quality setting

Post by byoder24 »

Here are a few things that could decrease the density of your point cloud in Revit:

Autodesk Recap has a decimation grid turned on by default. Try turning that down to 0 in the advanced settings when indexing the scans.

Also, in Revit there is a maximum amount of points that can be displayed...I'm not sure of the exact number, but that could also cause the point cloud to be less dense than you expected.

Just some thoughts,
Ben

markjenna1024
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 7:19 pm
Full Name: mark phillips
Company Details: BMWC
Company Position Title: SURVEYOR
Country: United States
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Faro quality setting

Post by markjenna1024 »

jcoco3 wrote:
Fri Feb 13, 2015 7:39 am
Adrian, your assumptions are pretty close, but I believe these are the discussions will help you:

http://laserscanningforum.com/forum/vie ... =49&t=5140

http://laserscanningforum.com/forum/vie ... =49&t=6542

http://laserscanningforum.com/forum/vie ... =49&t=7449

I am still a big fan of the 2x setting and changing the default stray filter grid in Scene from 3 to 5. While it is not truly the same quality as a 3x scan in for some environments it can produce a point cloud that is very similar by cleaning up much of the edge noise. We use other settings all the time, that is just our preference most of the time because we are more willing to live with a little more noise while working on the data in the office rather than spending more time scanning. It just depends on what you are trying to achieve and the environment being scanned, but I think if you read the previous post you will be able to better understand what is going on an learn to adjust the setting to best suite each project or scan.
JCOCO3, what are your normal stray point settings set at when processing? Do you use the default, or do you prefer a different setting. Could you also share what your other process settings are in Faro Scene. Thanks.
Mark Phillips, CST III
Virtual Design Tech Engineer
BMWC Constructors, Inc.
420 Superior Ave | Munster, IN 46321
O: (219) 922-5000 | C: (219) 898-1077

[email protected] | www.bmwc.com

User avatar
jcoco3
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1494
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 5:43 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Coco
Company Details: Forte and Tablada
Company Position Title: AMM Division Leader
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 58 times
Contact:

Re: Faro quality setting

Post by jcoco3 »

Quite a bit has changed since I wrote that post back in 2015. At the time we were using a Focus 120s, and maybe a 330X. Scene was much different then too. We have almost completley upgraded to Focus 350s and the newest version of Scene. With the newer devices in mind we are almost exclusively using a 2x quality setting and running all the default filters in Scene as is. A 2x scan from a 350 is quite exceptional so tuned or strategic filtering is needed less. In certain instances I am sure I would still tweak a few things to compensate for various conditions but it is difficult to cover all the examples here. Our most common use of any filters is simply the max distance filter. The quality and filter improovments have been a fairly remarkable achievement by the Faro devs, but easy to go unnoticed unless you had to deal with the older data and older versions of Scene.

If you are having a specific issue that the default filters are not resolving or you just want to understand a bit more then just ask, and I am sure we can help :)

markjenna1024
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 7:19 pm
Full Name: mark phillips
Company Details: BMWC
Company Position Title: SURVEYOR
Country: United States
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Faro quality setting

Post by markjenna1024 »

jcoco3 wrote:
Fri Jan 03, 2020 1:04 pm
Quite a bit has changed since I wrote that post back in 2015. At the time we were using a Focus 120s, and maybe a 330X. Scene was much different then too. We have almost completley upgraded to Focus 350s and the newest version of Scene. With the newer devices in mind we are almost exclusively using a 2x quality setting and running all the default filters in Scene as is. A 2x scan from a 350 is quite exceptional so tuned or strategic filtering is needed less. In certain instances I am sure I would still tweak a few things to compensate for various conditions but it is difficult to cover all the examples here. Our most common use of any filters is simply the max distance filter. The quality and filter improovments have been a fairly remarkable achievement by the Faro devs, but easy to go unnoticed unless you had to deal with the older data and older versions of Scene.

If you are having a specific issue that the default filters are not resolving or you just want to understand a bit more then just ask, and I am sure we can help :)


We too are scanning with S350 FARO scanners, and running the current Scene. We did a scan the other day with 2x and saw the amount of noise was huge compared to our normal 3x scans. We do use the distance filter also, and stray points filter. We are currently set at 3x, .02, and 50%. I was just surprised how much noise the 2x scan produced for an inside scan.
Mark Phillips, CST III
Virtual Design Tech Engineer
BMWC Constructors, Inc.
420 Superior Ave | Munster, IN 46321
O: (219) 922-5000 | C: (219) 898-1077

[email protected] | www.bmwc.com

User avatar
jcoco3
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1494
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 5:43 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Coco
Company Details: Forte and Tablada
Company Position Title: AMM Division Leader
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 58 times
Contact:

Re: Faro quality setting

Post by jcoco3 »

Hmm...that is surprising. Can you describe the indoor environment or provide a screen shot of the area or noise you are experiencing. There can be many different types of noise and causes. Range noise, high/low reflectivity induced, edge noise/beam splitting, diffraction, diffusion, dust or moisture in the air or on the optics (probably left out a few).

In general there should be a difference between 2x and 3x in the same environment, but some environments bring out the differences more than others. White drywall painted rooms like in a house show little difference, but dense mechanical rooms with tons of conduit, instrument tubing, piping, and structural steel can really make a 2x look its worst. Bumping the grid from a 2x to 3x used to make a difference, but the edge noise filter is kinda my preference now. It is amazing what you can achieve through a brute force approach to applying filters or running the smoothing with noise compression function, but who has the time?Unfortunately that is still sometime neccessary on certain projects, but has become less frequent for us.

If you are getting down into the weeds by cutting a narrow section in a surface, and examining the smoothness difference or the thickness of the noise then we are in another discussion about what you are trying to achieve through extraction and modeling.

Post Reply

Return to “Phase Based Scanners”