How to maintain a single coordinate system in a project divided into different files?

Discuss all Leica Cyclone, Cyclone REGISTER 360 & Cyclone FIELD 360 software here.
Post Reply
christpuj25
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2023 5:00 pm
Full Name: Cristian Pujols
Company Details: Enhanced Engineering
Company Position Title: Survey specialist
Country: República Dominicana

How to maintain a single coordinate system in a project divided into different files?

Post by christpuj25 »

Hello everyone,
I have recently started a survey of a multi-level apartment building.

To manage the size of the project (because my PC is not very powerful), I have decided to divide the project into different parts, for example, level 1, level 2, etc. and place each part in a different file in Cyclone Register 360 plus.

Considering the above, I would like to know what procedure I could use to ensure that each Cyclone project shares the same coordinate system, so that each part I survey is in the correct position according to the overall project.
Jamesrye
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:13 pm
15
Full Name: James Rye
Company Details: Merrett Survey Limited
Company Position Title: Spatial Analyst
Country: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 77 times
Contact:

Re: How to maintain a single coordinate system in a project divided into different files?

Post by Jamesrye »

Ideally, shoot in targets through the windows on each floor (front and back) using a total station, or if you're using a scanner that can fine scan targets, do that also. If the windows can open of course and if your scanner allows it, fine scan targets outside the building too. If you want to be able to be able to prove that your laser scan data is registered correctly, you need a high accuracy control network established with a total station and preferably levelled control.

Now you have some control to 'hang' each floor onto.

You can also scan up the stairwells and establish control points on each floor - again, to 'hang' the data onto.

At some point though, you will surely want to merge the scans into one project, so that you can check the registration by cutting sections. So, I would use bundles rather than have separate projects, because I dont think you can move data between projects like you can in CORE.

I don't know what the recommended specs are for REG360+, but I'd say you want 64GB RAM min and an i7 processor with some sort of decent graphics card.
christpuj25
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2023 5:00 pm
Full Name: Cristian Pujols
Company Details: Enhanced Engineering
Company Position Title: Survey specialist
Country: República Dominicana

Re: How to maintain a single coordinate system in a project divided into different files?

Post by christpuj25 »

Hi James,
thank you for the response. The hardware I will be using for the survey is a BLK360 Generation 1.
If there are any methods you can suggest to achieve the above using the BLK360, I would greatly appreciate your help or that of anyone who can assist me
User avatar
Carbix
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2019 1:36 am
5
Full Name: Daniel Loney
Company Details: Excelsior Measuring
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

Re: How to maintain a single coordinate system in a project divided into different files?

Post by Carbix »

christpuj25 wrote: Wed May 15, 2024 6:16 pm Hi James,
thank you for the response. The hardware I will be using for the survey is a BLK360 Generation 1.
If there are any methods you can suggest to achieve the above using the BLK360, I would greatly appreciate your help or that of anyone who can assist me
Wait... how big is this building and what do you plan on using the data for? What value do you need out of it? What stage is the building at in construction or demo?
Daniel Loney - Owner
Excelsior Measuring inc.
Vancouver - Okanagan - Calgary
www.ExcelsiorLevel.com
christpuj25
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2023 5:00 pm
Full Name: Cristian Pujols
Company Details: Enhanced Engineering
Company Position Title: Survey specialist
Country: República Dominicana

Re: How to maintain a single coordinate system in a project divided into different files?

Post by christpuj25 »

I will use the data to create an as-built set of drawing, The building is seven stories tall.
User avatar
Carbix
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2019 1:36 am
5
Full Name: Daniel Loney
Company Details: Excelsior Measuring
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

Re: How to maintain a single coordinate system in a project divided into different files?

Post by Carbix »

Revit, CAD, LOD? What is the use of the as-build plan? And yes all of this does matter.
Daniel Loney - Owner
Excelsior Measuring inc.
Vancouver - Okanagan - Calgary
www.ExcelsiorLevel.com
christpuj25
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2023 5:00 pm
Full Name: Cristian Pujols
Company Details: Enhanced Engineering
Company Position Title: Survey specialist
Country: República Dominicana

Re: How to maintain a single coordinate system in a project divided into different files?

Post by christpuj25 »

Revit, LOD 300. the asbuilt is for renovation.
Devon>biermannBosch
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2021 8:36 pm
2
Full Name: Devon Biermann Bosch
Company Details: Fortress Geomatics
Company Position Title: Geospatial Specialist
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How to maintain a single coordinate system in a project divided into different files?

Post by Devon>biermannBosch »

christpuj25 wrote: Wed May 15, 2024 6:16 pm Hi James,
thank you for the response. The hardware I will be using for the survey is a BLK360 Generation 1.
If there are any methods you can suggest to achieve the above using the BLK360, I would greatly appreciate your help or that of anyone who can assist me
Are you also using a Total station to control your data?
badam
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 935
Joined: Tue May 11, 2021 5:36 pm
3
Full Name: Adam Berta
Company Details: InnoScan 3D Hungary Kft
Company Position Title: unknown
Country: Hungary
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 305 times
Contact:

Re: How to maintain a single coordinate system in a project divided into different files?

Post by badam »

christpuj25 wrote: Wed May 15, 2024 5:06 pm Hello everyone,
I have recently started a survey of a multi-level apartment building.

To manage the size of the project (because my PC is not very powerful), I have decided to divide the project into different parts, for example, level 1, level 2, etc. and place each part in a different file in Cyclone Register 360 plus.

Considering the above, I would like to know what procedure I could use to ensure that each Cyclone project shares the same coordinate system, so that each part I survey is in the correct position according to the overall project.
I think there is no reason to divide them to separate project won't be faster it will be just a hassle, unless you have control network on every floor. And you don't rely on c2c during registering the floors together.

You can use almost any hardware if you have at least 32 gb ram, and enough storage capacity. We usually use a 5600g 64gb ram. But i've used 2400g with 32 gb ram earlier with projects over 1000 setup.

Only thing to do is to keep everything on different sitemap and only register smaller bundles (floors) first, verify/clean them, etc...
Then if all the floors are registered/cleaned/verified then register the floors together. Do a last check with trueslicer then export.
Jamesrye
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:13 pm
15
Full Name: James Rye
Company Details: Merrett Survey Limited
Company Position Title: Spatial Analyst
Country: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 77 times
Contact:

Re: How to maintain a single coordinate system in a project divided into different files?

Post by Jamesrye »

christpuj25 wrote: Wed May 15, 2024 6:16 pm Hi James,
thank you for the response. The hardware I will be using for the survey is a BLK360 Generation 1.
If there are any methods you can suggest to achieve the above using the BLK360, I would greatly appreciate your help or that of anyone who can assist me
A BLK Gen 1 :(

I'd hire in an RTC360 myself, unless the building is a one day wonder. You'll need some independent control for sure. It's been years since I used the BLK gen1, but I remember having issues with tilted scans.

Good luck!
Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone, Cyclone REGISTER 360 & Cyclone FIELD 360”