NavVis VLX 3 + Faro Focus S70

Discuss all NavVis related products here.
Post Reply
NickB
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2024 9:00 am
Full Name: Nick Beltman
Company Details: TVDB
Company Position Title: Laserscanspecialist
Country: Nederland
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 2 times

NavVis VLX 3 + Faro Focus S70

Post by NickB »

Hello everyone,

We are currently working with two 3D-scanners, the NavVis VLX 3 and the Faro Focus S70. I was wondering if anyone knows the best way(s) to connect two pointclouds. (one from NavVis and one from Faro)

We are currently looking into working with control points, does anyone have any idea's on how to connect the two pointclouds in combination with control points?

Thanks in regards!
User avatar
RobM
I have made 100> posts
I have made 100> posts
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 9:55 am
7
Full Name: Robin Miller
Company Details: My own boss
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: NavVis VLX 3 + Faro Focus S70

Post by RobM »

We are working with a Faro S350 and the Navvis VLX2.
All you need to do is measure your control with a total station and use those points for registering the data. both will be in the same coordinate system and work seemlessly together. We've been doing it this way for about two years now.
User avatar
Leandre Robitaille
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 547
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:53 am
4
Full Name: Leandre Robitaille
Company Details: Cima+
Company Position Title: Civil Technician - Surveyor
Country: Canada
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 249 times

Re: NavVis VLX 3 + Faro Focus S70

Post by Leandre Robitaille »

You can also register your faro scans first, from the faro scan place checkerboards in overlapping areas. Then run the vlx, capture those checkerboards. Extract the coordinates from the registered scene project and integrate them into your Ivion processing.
We found that c2c registration from faro to vlx does not work since vlx data has a +- 1 to 2cm error locally.
NickB
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2024 9:00 am
Full Name: Nick Beltman
Company Details: TVDB
Company Position Title: Laserscanspecialist
Country: Nederland
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: NavVis VLX 3 + Faro Focus S70

Post by NickB »

RobM wrote: Wed Mar 20, 2024 1:03 pm We are working with a Faro S350 and the Navvis VLX2.
All you need to do is measure your control with a total station and use those points for registering the data. both will be in the same coordinate system and work seemlessly together. We've been doing it this way for about two years now.
Thanks for the tip, we are currently working without a total station and would like to try and keep it this way :)
We have heard from NavVis self that its possible to combine the two without a totalstation.
NickB
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2024 9:00 am
Full Name: Nick Beltman
Company Details: TVDB
Company Position Title: Laserscanspecialist
Country: Nederland
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: NavVis VLX 3 + Faro Focus S70

Post by NickB »

Leandre Robitaille wrote: Wed Mar 20, 2024 3:03 pm You can also register your faro scans first, from the faro scan place checkerboards in overlapping areas. Then run the vlx, capture those checkerboards. Extract the coordinates from the registered scene project and integrate them into your Ivion processing.
We found that c2c registration from faro to vlx does not work since vlx data has a +- 1 to 2cm error locally.
That is what we are figuring out right now. I just feel like that the allignment in IVION is not the best. We haven't tried the control points on a big project jet. Do you think the NavVis pointcloud will 'form' around the Faro pointcloud if we use control points the right way?
User avatar
landmeterbeuckx
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1622
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 5:19 pm
11
Full Name: Lieven Beuckx
Company Details: Studiebureau Beuckx
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Belgium
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 185 times
Been thanked: 557 times

Re: NavVis VLX 3 + Faro Focus S70

Post by landmeterbeuckx »

NickB wrote: Thu Mar 21, 2024 10:01 am
RobM wrote: Wed Mar 20, 2024 1:03 pm We are working with a Faro S350 and the Navvis VLX2.
All you need to do is measure your control with a total station and use those points for registering the data. both will be in the same coordinate system and work seemlessly together. We've been doing it this way for about two years now.
Thanks for the tip, we are currently working without a total station and would like to try and keep it this way :)
We have heard from NavVis self that its possible to combine the two without a totalstation.
No control = recipe for disaster. Especially with slam, even with tls.

You can only check if your stuff is good with control. But placing control is a trade of it's own..... a surveyors trade.
LSBbvba
Surveying services - 3D Laserscanning
Tel : +32477753126
www.lsbbvba.be
[email protected]
pfirmsto
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2021 11:19 am
2
Full Name: Peter Firmstone
Company Details: Zeus Project Services Pty Ltd
Company Position Title: Director
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: NavVis VLX 3 + Faro Focus S70

Post by pfirmsto »

NickB wrote: Thu Mar 21, 2024 10:04 am
Leandre Robitaille wrote: Wed Mar 20, 2024 3:03 pm You can also register your faro scans first, from the faro scan place checkerboards in overlapping areas. Then run the vlx, capture those checkerboards. Extract the coordinates from the registered scene project and integrate them into your Ivion processing.
We found that c2c registration from faro to vlx does not work since vlx data has a +- 1 to 2cm error locally.
That is what we are figuring out right now. I just feel like that the allignment in IVION is not the best. We haven't tried the control points on a big project jet. Do you think the NavVis pointcloud will 'form' around the Faro pointcloud if we use control points the right way?
We have used the VLX2 on a large job (6 full days of scanning with the VLX), with least squares analysis, tight control and accurate survey practices, in our case we found a strong correlation with higher accuracy point clouds, misalignment was not evident when slicing / comparing with point clouds produced independently with other instruments registered to the same control. The VLX point cloud had more noise, and it wasn't as accurate picking up the profiles of small pipework, column and beam sections (especially square edges), but large diameter pipes and relatively flat surfaces were aligned, I suspect the misalignment you're seeing is due to your control. Faro Scene also registers point clouds to each other before registering the combined point cloud to control targets (at least that's my understanding, correct me if I'm wrong), so the Faro scans will also accumulate errors over distance.
Post Reply

Return to “NavVis”