VPC file is empty or not displaying

Discuss Veesus software here, including those for Arena4D and the plug-ins for SolidWorks and Rhino.
Post Reply
angeliapayne
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 4:24 pm
13
Full Name: Angie Payne
Company Details: Center for Advanced Spatial Technologies
Company Position Title: Researcher

VPC file is empty or not displaying

Post by angeliapayne »

I am evaluating Arena 4D Data Studio. I have a 16 GB PTS file that was exported from Leica Cyclone (XYZIRGB). I have created a VPC file using Veesus Creator. The VPC file is approximately 3GB. However when I open the VPC file in Data Studio, nothing displays. I tried toggling color off/on, aligning to and x axis view (or y or z). The file appears to be empty.

I have had success importing other, smaller PTS files so far.
Any thoughts?
Mark Christy
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:11 pm
9
Full Name: Mark Christy
Company Details: Veesus Ltd Arena4D.
Company Position Title: Technology Director
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: VPC file is empty or not displaying

Post by Mark Christy »

Hi Angie,

Have you tried double clicking the file name when listed in the Arena4d explorer tree or selecting it in the tree and then clicking the magnifying glass at the top of the tree view?

Also if you click the properties of the file in Arena4d it will show you how many points it believes is in the file. That is worth checking.

Finally I’d recommend exporting as e57 or las rather than PTS as it’s quite a slow cumbersome file format.

Many thanks

Mark
max72
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 826
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:32 pm
9
Full Name: Massimo De Marchi
Company Details: Massimo De Marchi
Company Position Title: freelancer
Country: Italy
Skype Name: massimo_de_marchi
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 38 times
Contact:

Re: VPC file is empty or not displaying

Post by max72 »

Do you mind sharing the file?
Massimo
ing. Massimo De Marchi - +39 347 32 17 049 - www.studiodemarchi.net
angeliapayne
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 4:24 pm
13
Full Name: Angie Payne
Company Details: Center for Advanced Spatial Technologies
Company Position Title: Researcher

Re: VPC file is empty or not displaying

Post by angeliapayne »

Thanks for the suggestions Mark, as I'm completely new to Veesus products. I think I've figured it out. The data has been georeferenced, so it is far way from the 0,0,0 center.

From the bottom of the screen, these are the coordinates:

5400.29862206
14756.48454736
6832580.6856702

Does Veesus not offer a transformation option upon import?
Mark Christy
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:11 pm
9
Full Name: Mark Christy
Company Details: Veesus Ltd Arena4D.
Company Position Title: Technology Director
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: VPC file is empty or not displaying

Post by Mark Christy »

Hi Angie,

You've got a few options depending on what you want to do with the data.

1) If you want to just view it at 0,0,0 then you can simply change the XYZ values in Arena4D under the point cloud properties window. This will move it to 0,0,0 from its current location.

2) If you want to see the data on a map then set the EPSG code, again under the point cloud properties window. For example, if your data was UK registered it would likely be 27700 as an EPSG code. Once that's done turn on the GIS and OpenStreetMap options under the Overlays menu.

3) If you want the data to be permanently changed to once it's moved you can use the Edit tools to "Select All" and then "Copy". This will create a second file where all the points are now stored in their new position.

Many Thanks

Mark
angeliapayne
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 4:24 pm
13
Full Name: Angie Payne
Company Details: Center for Advanced Spatial Technologies
Company Position Title: Researcher

Re: VPC file is empty or not displaying

Post by angeliapayne »

Image

Thanks Mark. I'll keep working on it.

I first tried to translate the data to 0,0,0 by changing the values in the pc properties and then double clicking on the name in the workspace editor. See the snapshot above. Note that the Y value is still really high? Even though the transformation matrix appears correct:

1000
0100
0010
0001

Is there a way to see what units the data are in? Is meters the default? Will keep working on it and will let you know if I make any progress.
Mark Christy
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:11 pm
9
Full Name: Mark Christy
Company Details: Veesus Ltd Arena4D.
Company Position Title: Technology Director
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: VPC file is empty or not displaying

Post by Mark Christy »

Hi Angie,

Something doesn't look right with that data at all. I can see a couple of points on the screen, but for a 3GB file I'd expect to see much more!

Arena4D works internally in metres, however I think your issue is more than a units problem. I get the feeling something is wrong with the PTS file you exported. You mention that you've done other PTS files with no problem, so it suggests something has gone wrong with this export.

I would do the following...

1) Export a small portion of the "problematic" point cloud
2) Try to use LAS or E57 rather than PTS
3) Convert to VPC and try loading it

If that works out ok with LAS or E57 then try exporting the whole file again.

Many Thanks

Mark
dmhcampbell
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2020 6:48 pm
2
Full Name: David Campbell
Company Details: Company in Alberta Canada
Company Position Title: Analyst
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: VPC file is empty or not displaying

Post by dmhcampbell »

I am having a similar problem where the VPC is loaded and shows there is info in the file, but is not displaying anything. I can load and view the data within cloud compare. I have set reference to epsg 26911.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Matt Ransom
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue May 08, 2018 1:40 pm
4
Full Name: Matt Ransom
Company Details: Veesus Ltd Arena4D
Company Position Title: Support Manager
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: No
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: VPC file is empty or not displaying

Post by Matt Ransom »

Hello,

Whilst in the properties for the VPC Point Cloud if you scroll down slightly you will see the Point Count which I'm sure is fine, but always worth checking it is not '0'.

I assume you have double clicked on the file name in the Workspace tree which will centre the point cloud in the view. If not please do so.

Does the point cloud have any Intensity information? Arena4D by default is set to display the intensity values so please select colour in the properties for the point cloud (slightly further down from the picture you show). Also you can click the paint can icon "Colouring" option to force the view to display colour for all loaded point clouds, where you have not individually set a preference.

When the VPC file was created did you change the unit setting? Arena4D works in meters and if you applied a change of units it is possible to get this wrong and the point cloud is so small you can't see it.

Please email me at [email protected] if you continue to get stuck.
Post Reply

Return to “Veesus”