Leica Cyclone FIELD 360 v4.0

Discuss all Leica Cyclone, Cyclone REGISTER 360 & Cyclone FIELD 360 software here.
Post Reply
User avatar
LeicaUK_RC
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 753
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 9:30 am
11
Full Name: Phil Marsh
Company Details: Leica Geosystems part of Hexagon
Company Position Title: UK Sales Manager - Reality Capture
Country: UK
Skype Name: Phil.H.Marsh
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Barnsley, UK
Been thanked: 46 times
Contact:

Leica Cyclone FIELD 360 v4.0

Post by LeicaUK_RC »

Leica Cyclone FIELD 360 v4.0 is now available to download

This update includes numerous features that are not only available for the all-new BLK360 but for all supported scanners:
- Cyclone FIELD 360 now supports data capture with Apple Lidar. Apple iPhones and iPads equipped with a Lidar sensor can be used to collect scans, and users benefit from all features within Cyclone FIELD 360. Individual Lidar scans can be linked using Cyclone FIELDs PreAlign and Optimism algorithms. Tags and measurements can be added, and registered Lidar point clouds can be used with the optional Quick Plan add-on.
- Apple Lidar data can also be used as 3D tags to fill gaps in data from existing BLK360 RTC360 or ScanStation setups. Lidar data is registered to the reference setup and visualised in real-time. Gap-filling data collected with Cyclone FIELD will be imported into Cyclone or Cyclone REGISTER 360 version 2022.1
- Cleaning tool to remove unwanted points
for registration or visualisation
- New and improved connection workflow
completely from within the app - no need to manually connect in device settings
Tagging and measurements in 3D view
- Bug fixes and stability improvements
1657090717794.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Leica Geosystems
M: 07540 201383
E: [email protected]
W: www.leica-geosystems.com
User avatar
LeicaUK_RC
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 753
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 9:30 am
11
Full Name: Phil Marsh
Company Details: Leica Geosystems part of Hexagon
Company Position Title: UK Sales Manager - Reality Capture
Country: UK
Skype Name: Phil.H.Marsh
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Barnsley, UK
Been thanked: 46 times
Contact:

Re: Leica Cyclone FIELD 360 v4.0

Post by LeicaUK_RC »

Leica Geosystems
M: 07540 201383
E: [email protected]
W: www.leica-geosystems.com
Kruse
I have made 100> posts
I have made 100> posts
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2021 3:09 pm
1
Full Name: Kruse
Company Details: HPCC
Company Position Title: Lead VDC Engineer
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Leica Cyclone FIELD 360 v4.0

Post by Kruse »

LeicaUK_RC wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 8:12 am Leica Cyclone FIELD 360 v4.0 is now available to download

This update includes numerous features that are not only available for the all-new BLK360 but for all supported scanners:
- Cyclone FIELD 360 now supports data capture with Apple Lidar. Apple iPhones and iPads equipped with a Lidar sensor can be used to collect scans, and users benefit from all features within Cyclone FIELD 360. Individual Lidar scans can be linked using Cyclone FIELDs PreAlign and Optimism algorithms. Tags and measurements can be added, and registered Lidar point clouds can be used with the optional Quick Plan add-on.
- Apple Lidar data can also be used as 3D tags to fill gaps in data from existing BLK360 RTC360 or ScanStation setups. Lidar data is registered to the reference setup and visualised in real-time. Gap-filling data collected with Cyclone FIELD will be imported into Cyclone or Cyclone REGISTER 360 version 2022.1
- Cleaning tool to remove unwanted points
for registration or visualisation
- New and improved connection workflow
completely from within the app - no need to manually connect in device settings - THIS BROKE MY ABILITY TO CONNECT TO THE RTC360!
Tagging and measurements in 3D view
- Bug fixes and stability improvements

1657090717794.png
After updating the app, it no longer connects to my RTC 360's wifi connection. Through the app, it asks you to connect to the scanner, so I select my RTC 360, but it continually fails! I can connect through the general wifi settings on the ipad, but it still doesn't recognize that and can't communicate with the scanner to start scanning remotely or do anything. It only lets me create a project and scan with the iPad's lidar sensor.

When entering in the SSID to connect to its wifi through Field 360, I've tried RTC360-******* as well as just my scanners Serial number, yet it still doesn't recognize it or accept a login/connection. I noticed when I selected the BLK 360 scanner (even though I don't have one) it auto populates the "BLK360-" for the SSID so you only have to type in your scanner's serial number. The RTC and P series scanners doesn't do that, so I don't know if that has something to do with it, just thought it worth mentioning. Please let me know if there is anything else I should try.

Has anyone else had this problem after updating the Field 360 app??
jamesworrell
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 497
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:45 pm
8
Full Name: James Worrell
Company Details: Bennett and Francis
Company Position Title: Director
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 66 times
Contact:

Re: Leica Cyclone FIELD 360 v4.0

Post by jamesworrell »

Kruse wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 10:09 pm After updating the app, it no longer connects to my RTC 360's wifi connection.
So business as usual then .. I haven't managed a successful connection for 6+ months to either ipads or iphones.

Don't understand it hey .. DJI manage to transfer video several kilometres .. but between Leica total stations and scanners .. FFS - I just don't get it.
Kruse
I have made 100> posts
I have made 100> posts
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2021 3:09 pm
1
Full Name: Kruse
Company Details: HPCC
Company Position Title: Lead VDC Engineer
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Leica Cyclone FIELD 360 v4.0

Post by Kruse »

Good news! Leica tech support responded and after uninstalling the app on my iPad and reinstalling, it connected to the RTC 360 wifi and was working remotely and syncing data again. When connecting through the app instead of the device settings/wifi, just be sure to include "RTC360-" at the beginning of the SSID before typing your scanner's serial number.
tkm
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2021 8:59 am
1
Full Name: Kevin O
Company Details: Technical Officer
Company Position Title: Technical Officer
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Leica Cyclone FIELD 360 v4.0

Post by tkm »

Might be obsolete now, but restarting the Field360 app once the scanner shows as connected in iOS WiFi settings tends to work well for me.

Where do you go in the app to start an Apple Lidar scan? It seems you can only do it in a separate job file without existing BLK/RTC scans?

Does deleting points from the new 3D view delete them entirely?

Image

Image
Kruse
I have made 100> posts
I have made 100> posts
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2021 3:09 pm
1
Full Name: Kruse
Company Details: HPCC
Company Position Title: Lead VDC Engineer
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Leica Cyclone FIELD 360 v4.0

Post by Kruse »

tkm wrote: Thu Jul 07, 2022 2:09 am Might be obsolete now, but restarting the Field360 app once the scanner shows as connected in iOS WiFi settings tends to work well for me.

Where do you go in the app to start an Apple Lidar scan? It seems you can only do it in a separate job file without existing BLK/RTC scans?

Does deleting points from the new 3D view delete them entirely?

Image

Image
I haven't verified it deleting points in field 360 affects the import, but I'll have that answer tomorrow. As for attaching the lidar scan to the stationary scans, first select the individual setup, and add a geotag. You'll have the option to 3d scan. I haven't done much testing with that yet, but once you start it, the iPad tries to find it's location based off the lidar/scan overlay and once it "knows" it's location, you just start scanning and save it as you would any geotag. After importing. The lidar data will populate in the dataset and you can run it through a visual alignment to make sure it's as accurate as possible. I'll do more testing with all this tomorrow.
User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 2015
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
15
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK
Has thanked: 74 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: Leica Cyclone FIELD 360 v4.0

Post by pburrows145 »

jamesworrell wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 11:21 pm
Kruse wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 10:09 pm After updating the app, it no longer connects to my RTC 360's wifi connection.
So business as usual then .. I haven't managed a successful connection for 6+ months to either ipads or iphones.

Don't understand it hey .. DJI manage to transfer video several kilometres .. but between Leica total stations and scanners .. FFS - I just don't get it.
This is crazy - not once (and I mean once) have I had a connection issue to any scanner using my iPhone 11 or iPad. Have you contacted support? I mean, had a few issues with the beat which were resolved during testing (hence the software is now released), but I am staggered you have these issues... let me know if there's anything I can do.
User avatar
stevenramsey
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1898
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:22 pm
15
Full Name: Steven Ramsey
Company Details: 4DMax
Company Position Title: Technical Specialist Scanning
Country: UK
Skype Name: steven.ramsey
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 56 times
Contact:

Re: Leica Cyclone FIELD 360 v4.0

Post by stevenramsey »

Kruse wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 10:09 pm
LeicaUK_RC wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 8:12 am Leica Cyclone FIELD 360 v4.0 is now available to download

This update includes numerous features that are not only available for the all-new BLK360 but for all supported scanners:
- Cyclone FIELD 360 now supports data capture with Apple Lidar. Apple iPhones and iPads equipped with a Lidar sensor can be used to collect scans, and users benefit from all features within Cyclone FIELD 360. Individual Lidar scans can be linked using Cyclone FIELDs PreAlign and Optimism algorithms. Tags and measurements can be added, and registered Lidar point clouds can be used with the optional Quick Plan add-on.
- Apple Lidar data can also be used as 3D tags to fill gaps in data from existing BLK360 RTC360 or ScanStation setups. Lidar data is registered to the reference setup and visualised in real-time. Gap-filling data collected with Cyclone FIELD will be imported into Cyclone or Cyclone REGISTER 360 version 2022.1
- Cleaning tool to remove unwanted points
for registration or visualisation
- New and improved connection workflow
completely from within the app - no need to manually connect in device settings - THIS BROKE MY ABILITY TO CONNECT TO THE RTC360!
Tagging and measurements in 3D view
- Bug fixes and stability improvements

1657090717794.png
After updating the app, it no longer connects to my RTC 360's wifi connection. Through the app, it asks you to connect to the scanner, so I select my RTC 360, but it continually fails! I can connect through the general wifi settings on the ipad, but it still doesn't recognize that and can't communicate with the scanner to start scanning remotely or do anything. It only lets me create a project and scan with the iPad's lidar sensor.

When entering in the SSID to connect to its wifi through Field 360, I've tried RTC360-******* as well as just my scanners Serial number, yet it still doesn't recognize it or accept a login/connection. I noticed when I selected the BLK 360 scanner (even though I don't have one) it auto populates the "BLK360-" for the SSID so you only have to type in your scanner's serial number. The RTC and P series scanners doesn't do that, so I don't know if that has something to do with it, just thought it worth mentioning. Please let me know if there is anything else I should try.

Has anyone else had this problem after updating the Field 360 app??

Snap wont connect even if it is already connected fine in the settings.

Support haven't found a solution yet
Steven Ramsey

Home [email protected]
Work [email protected]
Mobile +44 7766 310 915
User avatar
stevenramsey
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1898
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:22 pm
15
Full Name: Steven Ramsey
Company Details: 4DMax
Company Position Title: Technical Specialist Scanning
Country: UK
Skype Name: steven.ramsey
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 56 times
Contact:

Re: Leica Cyclone FIELD 360 v4.0

Post by stevenramsey »

Here are some suggestions as I have solved my connection issues (no support contact yet)

Go to wifi settings and forget network
go to settings apps and force stop
uninstall from the app settings.
do a hard reboot
install from the app store (it seems that just updating the app and keeping the old wifi settings is blocking the connection)
do a another hard reboot

and it now works. And note as it isn't listed on the release notes V4 also works with the last version of the RTC FW not just the current
Steven Ramsey

Home [email protected]
Work [email protected]
Mobile +44 7766 310 915
Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone, Cyclone REGISTER 360 & Cyclone FIELD 360”