Mesh a tree .. but how (which Software) ??

Please feel free to ask other members for help with certain projects
Nicedays
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2014 5:32 pm
Full Name: Chao Han
Company Details: VirtualGrid
Company Position Title: Founder
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Mesh a tree .. but how (which Software) ??

Post by Nicedays »

Timo wrote:
Nicedays wrote:Hello,
Here are the steps in VRMesh, i.e. Detect leaves, remove leaves, and meshing.
Looks great. Can you upload an OBJ to a cloud hoster, please.
-- Here is the OBJ file: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/796 ... UM-obj.zip
-- Here is the classified point clouds: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/796 ... sified.las

.

Nicedays
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2014 5:32 pm
Full Name: Chao Han
Company Details: VirtualGrid
Company Position Title: Founder
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Mesh a tree .. but how (which Software) ??

Post by Nicedays »

dhirota wrote:Chao

What is the maximum number of scan points that can be processed? Does the software use GPU for processing?
Hello Dennis,

--There are two commands that can be used to read a point cloud file in VRMesh. The Import command (File > Import) imports all data into the window. The Index/Attach command (File > Index/Attach) allows you to create an index file from a point cloud file and attach it to the current project, which only retrieves inquiring points into the window. Therefore, it can handle large datasets in excess of one billion points. The program has no limit concerning the point cloud and mesh size.

-- VRMesh uses multiple threads (cores of CPU) to speed up the processing. A maximum of 32 cores is supported.

User avatar
Majid_noori
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:32 am
Full Name: MAJID DOOST
Company Details: PointSharePlus Pty Ltd
Company Position Title: Technical Director
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Perth
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Mesh a tree .. but how (which Software) ??

Post by Majid_noori »

Hi ,
I have used Poisson mesh in cloud compare ,
you can use intensity filtration to get rid of most of the leaves. SOR filter is also useful,
Image
Image

DianaD
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 08, 2020 12:55 pm
Full Name: Diana
Company Details: Domb
Company Position Title: Domb
Country: Ukraine
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Mesh a tree .. but how (which Software) ??

Post by DianaD »

Hi guys, here is our collection of leaves that we want to draw for schools and educational projects. We will draw 200 sets of leaves if the crowdfunding project succeeds. For now, 22 sets with 66 illustrations of spring, summer and autumn versions of leaves are done. They are all available under the Creative Commons License.
Image
Source https://creazilla.com/sections/4-clipar ... ees-leaves

User avatar
GCFdesign
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:23 am
Full Name: Gary Fellows
Company Details: GCF Design Limited
Company Position Title: Director
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Mesh a tree .. but how (which Software) ??

Post by GCFdesign »

Cloudcompare can mesh a tree.
Regards,

Gary Fellows

Director

GCF Design Limited

https://gcfdesign.wixsite.com/gcfdesign

User avatar
Peyman Bashiri
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:32 pm
Full Name: Peyman Bashiri
Company Details: Aero Geometrics Canadian Z+F reseller
Company Position Title: Laser scanning amd BIM Specialist
Country: Canada
Skype Name: pbashiri2003
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Vancouver,BC
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 11 times
Contact:

Re: Mesh a tree .. but how (which Software) ??

Post by Peyman Bashiri »

Reality capture would do a good job on mesh modeling specially if you want to combine it with photogrammetry. There is only 2 software that could use either laser scan and photo (as far as I know). I attached a couple images of a tree that I scanned awhile back. It is just laser scan and no photogrammetry used for it.
Peyman
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply

Return to “Request Help With Projects”