Cone shaped scans. Scans corrupted?

Discuss all FARO 3D Software related issues here
Post Reply
Drew_Parker
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 5:28 pm
Full Name: Andrew B Thomas
Company Details: Parker Marine Enterprises
Company Position Title: Design Engineer
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Cone shaped scans. Scans corrupted?

Post by Drew_Parker » Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:51 pm

Several times now scans from our FARO S 120 have imported and aligned ok but the points appear in this cone shape. I have not identified a pattern of when this happens, sometimes everything works fine sometimes this. You can see the reference points and planes do not appear in the same cone shape, they appear to be correctly placed. Anyone else this problem?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

steves01x
Forum Supporter
Forum Supporter
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 3:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Smith
Company Details: Scanning
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Scotland
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Cone shaped scans. Scans corrupted?

Post by steves01x » Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:00 pm

I have had this twice with X330 but i think it was due to someone moving the scanner before it was 100% completed!!

MALTBY
I have made 90-100 posts
I have made 90-100 posts
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 10:12 am
Full Name: Simon Judd
Company Details: MALTBY LAND SURVEYS
Company Position Title: Operations Manager

Re: Cone shaped scans. Scans corrupted?

Post by MALTBY » Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:10 pm

Hi there

How did you align the scans as i cannot see a scan manager for the registration.

Simon

pomped
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:55 pm
Full Name: Daniel Pompe
Company Details: FARO
Company Position Title: Software Developer
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Cone shaped scans. Scans corrupted?

Post by pomped » Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:37 pm

Are planar and quick view looking ok?
Can you post ascreenshot of 3d view of a single scan when the scan is loaded to clarify if this is a general problem or related to scan point clouds?

Drew_Parker
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 5:28 pm
Full Name: Andrew B Thomas
Company Details: Parker Marine Enterprises
Company Position Title: Design Engineer
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Cone shaped scans. Scans corrupted?

Post by Drew_Parker » Mon Dec 04, 2017 3:02 pm

MALTBY wrote:
Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:10 pm
Hi there

How did you align the scans as i cannot see a scan manager for the registration.

Simon
I used target registration and then one cloud-to-cloud to align them(they had mean target tension of 0.465" :( ) I had deleted the scan manager in the screen shot as I was trying a few different things.

Drew_Parker
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 5:28 pm
Full Name: Andrew B Thomas
Company Details: Parker Marine Enterprises
Company Position Title: Design Engineer
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Cone shaped scans. Scans corrupted?

Post by Drew_Parker » Mon Dec 04, 2017 3:04 pm

pomped wrote:
Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:37 pm
Are planar and quick view looking ok?
Can you post ascreenshot of 3d view of a single scan when the scan is loaded to clarify if this is a general problem or related to scan point clouds?
The attached photos show what all the scans look like generally. The second is a horizontal view showing that the scan picked up the floor as a reference plane. The first is a view looking up showing the how all the points appear to radiate out from a point directly above the scanner.

The quick view looks the same as the 3D view. The planar view is completely black.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

pomped
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:55 pm
Full Name: Daniel Pompe
Company Details: FARO
Company Position Title: Software Developer
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Cone shaped scans. Scans corrupted?

Post by pomped » Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:32 am

I have talked to one of my colleagues and he told me that this was a bug in SCENE 6.2. Can you confirm that you are working with this version?

The bug is should be fixed in newer versions (7.0 and 7.1). For 6.2 there is a workaround: One has to save the project directly after importing the scans before starting processing or editing.

Hope that this works for you!

Drew_Parker
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 5:28 pm
Full Name: Andrew B Thomas
Company Details: Parker Marine Enterprises
Company Position Title: Design Engineer
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Cone shaped scans. Scans corrupted?

Post by Drew_Parker » Tue Dec 05, 2017 12:20 pm

pomped wrote:
Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:32 am
I have talked to one of my colleagues and he told me that this was a bug in SCENE 6.2. Can you confirm that you are working with this version?

The bug is should be fixed in newer versions (7.0 and 7.1). For 6.2 there is a workaround: One has to save the project directly after importing the scans before starting processing or editing.

Hope that this works for you!
Yes I am working in Scene 6.2. Thank you! Saving directly before editing/processing worked perfectly.

Post Reply

Return to “FARO 3D Software”