Scene 6 fls save time longer?

Discuss all Faro related software issues here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Jeffc1qps
I have made 80-90 posts
I have made 80-90 posts
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 7:41 pm
Full Name: Jeff Cuneo
Company Details: QPS-3D
Company Position Title: Scan-Modeling Division Manager
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Scene 6 fls save time longer?

Post by Jeffc1qps » Fri Jul 14, 2017 9:51 pm

Has anyone experienced a longer save time when loading and saving your .fls files before beginning the registration process? I recently upgraded due to some issue with registration and it seems to take twice the time. And this is before preprocessing or selecting the targets manually. It's 76 scans at 1/5 resolution, no color and about 8gigs of data. should be pretty simple... I'm pretty puzzled.

bdawood
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 3:10 pm
Full Name: Bashar Dawood
Company Details: Canada West Drafting Inc.
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Calgary Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Contact:

Re: Scene 6 fls save time longer?

Post by bdawood » Sat Jul 15, 2017 4:53 am

That is weird, which version of 6 do you have? the latest one 6.2.4 is very good and solves many issues.

User avatar
Jeffc1qps
I have made 80-90 posts
I have made 80-90 posts
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 7:41 pm
Full Name: Jeff Cuneo
Company Details: QPS-3D
Company Position Title: Scan-Modeling Division Manager
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Scene 6 fls save time longer?

Post by Jeffc1qps » Sat Jul 15, 2017 12:25 pm

That's the one I have. I wonder if 6 is more demanding on a computer. Plus mine is getting older and they now suggest 64g memory. Mine was built when 32 was suggested.
But, I used to register quicker than this in 5.3...

bdawood
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 3:10 pm
Full Name: Bashar Dawood
Company Details: Canada West Drafting Inc.
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Calgary Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Contact:

Re: Scene 6 fls save time longer?

Post by bdawood » Sat Jul 15, 2017 3:36 pm

1/5 is very easy on the system, and the number of scans are not high, I had a situation like this before, but one of the scans was corrupt, I removed it and everything was fine after that. I found 6.2 to be way more efficient than 5.5 and much faster, The way I work now is to load everything on the Ram, mind you that I have 256 gb and the work from there is as driving on a fast highway where the job should take few hours and that should include processing and registration. Exporting still take time, but for what you have it should not, I would look into the components of the system, if you have a quadro, make sure it is set on game development settings.

Post Reply

Return to “Faro Scene & Scenect”