ISSUE WITH SCENE REVISION NOT TRANSFERRING TO RECAP

Discuss all Faro related software issues here.
User avatar
Jeffc1qps
I have made 80-90 posts
I have made 80-90 posts
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 6:41 pm
Full Name: Jeff Cuneo
Company Details: QPS-3D
Company Position Title: Scan-Modeling Division Manager
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes

ISSUE WITH SCENE REVISION NOT TRANSFERRING TO RECAP

Post by Jeffc1qps » Fri Jun 02, 2017 5:07 pm

Hey guys. I have an issue that is truly causing me to scratch my head. I have two sets of data, scanned on the same day. I processed each separately, then combined them, in their clusters, into one project. at first i had a line up issue, even though scene 5.3 said it was a 'green light'. i finally had a final revision where i forced a few targets and ended up with a matched tolerance of .0002. And that's awesome!! However, when i import the files to recap(v15), it always processes the scans back to the original, slightly off version. I've tried it three different ways, importing the fls files(found in rev 13 of 20 revisions), importing the workspace, and importing the lsproj way. All do the same thing. Why is recap not recognizing the final revision and fine tuned scan placement? I'm totally baffled. Thanks.

User avatar
sreed
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 4:31 pm
Full Name: Scott Reed
Company Details: Prologue Systems
Company Position Title: Principal
Country: USA
Skype Name: sabotva
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: ISSUE WITH SCENE REVISION NOT TRANSFERRING TO RECAP

Post by sreed » Fri Jun 02, 2017 5:12 pm

Hey Jeff,

Several things come to mind, and all of the below solutions should solve your problem:
Clean and compact
Export the project to a new project
Export the scans (ordered, or structured) and use these new fls files (not folders) in Recap.

User avatar
berdindc
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:24 pm
Full Name: Dan
Company Details: Berding
Company Position Title: Project Engineer
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Ohio

Re: ISSUE WITH SCENE REVISION NOT TRANSFERRING TO RECAP

Post by berdindc » Tue Jun 06, 2017 8:16 pm

For a time RECAP had trouble with SPC's when exporting a PTX file but sounds like you are using FLS files?

After you are happy with registration --> SAVE --> R-click parent cluster --> Save Copy of Scans

....and place in a folder called FINAL or something. Try importing those.

Otherwise, could R-click --> export e57

Another option would be to delete your scan manager in FARO and re-register. :?

BeateM
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2016 10:27 am
Full Name: Beate Metzler
Company Details: kubit - now FARO
Company Position Title: Technical Support
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: ISSUE WITH SCENE REVISION NOT TRANSFERRING TO RECAP

Post by BeateM » Thu Jun 08, 2017 12:14 pm

The FARO SDK is not read/used (by Recap and unfortunately by the Decap feature in Scene too) in the way it is required to get the correct position of each single scan.
The projects that are effected - as I know - are the one with
- clusters and/or
- external references and/or
- tranformations.

I would recommend to
- export to a new (temporary) Scene project. Now all "meta" data is written into each single scan (is the same effect as you may know from the previous "save copy of scan" command).
- Then you can decide to export the single scans, the clusters or the whole project into an RCP project or to import the lsproj. file or single scans into Recap with correct position.

User avatar
Jeffc1qps
I have made 80-90 posts
I have made 80-90 posts
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 6:41 pm
Full Name: Jeff Cuneo
Company Details: QPS-3D
Company Position Title: Scan-Modeling Division Manager
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: ISSUE WITH SCENE REVISION NOT TRANSFERRING TO RECAP

Post by Jeffc1qps » Fri Jul 14, 2017 9:39 pm

Thanks for the input guys. The SDK update was the ultimate fix! It throws some scans away during the process and you have to load them back in. But it works.
I have other issues to deal with now, but that one is resolved!

Return to “FARO SCENE”