How to reduce project .pod size?

Discuss all Faro related software issues here.
bbilgiler
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 11:56 am
Full Name: Begum Bilgiler
Company Details: Mimr
Company Position Title: Geomatics Engineer
Country: Turkey
Linkedin Profile: Yes

How to reduce project .pod size?

Post by bbilgiler » Tue Dec 26, 2017 2:18 pm

Hello,

I am new in the forum and also a new FARO/SCENE user.
I am working in an architecture-restoration office and we have a project of a building- has app. 500 scans(459 GB).
I've exported one floor (app. 90 scans) and it took one day.
And I started to export another cluster of 3 floors (app. around 250 scans) 4 days ago and still processing!

I gotta share the 1st project with an architect as a .pod file and she says she needs each file as max 30-40 GB. And it's kinda urgent.
Does anyone knows how to reduce the number of points while exporting -without any important loss? OR how can I fasten exporting?

Thanks!
Begüm

geedaa83
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 12:39 pm
Full Name: Mohamed AbdEl-Magied
Company Details: Jatco
Company Position Title: Jatco
Country: Saudi Arabia
Skype Name: geedaa83
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: How to reduce project .pod size?

Post by geedaa83 » Wed Dec 27, 2017 10:50 am

hi

my suggestion is to share 11st project in recap format that will decrease file size around 25%
Thank You

Mahmed AbdEl-Magied
+966565841792
m83abdelmaged@gmail.com

bbilgiler
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 11:56 am
Full Name: Begum Bilgiler
Company Details: Mimr
Company Position Title: Geomatics Engineer
Country: Turkey
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: How to reduce project .pod size?

Post by bbilgiler » Wed Dec 27, 2017 3:10 pm

I found a way to do it but I am still looking forward to hear your ways to do it. And I am not sure if I'm gonna loose any meaningful data or not.

While exporting -
CHOOSE export scans ordered > choosing the row-column sections > setting as 2-2 (as default they are both 1).
And I think setting up MAX. DISTANCE also makes a difference.

EPK3D
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 12:10 pm
Full Name: Mateusz Niedzwiecki
Company Details: Energoprojekt-Katowice
Company Position Title: Team leader
Country: Poland
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: How to reduce project .pod size?

Post by EPK3D » Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:45 pm

1. Export scans as .e57 or .fls or .las
2. Convert scans in Bentley Pointools PODcreator (it is free). There you can use "compression" and "spacing".

Test of 1 scan:
No compression, no spacing ~331 MB
No compression, spacing 1mm ~275 MB
Compression 1mm, no spacing ~189 MB
Compression 1mm, spacing 1mm ~157 MB

Of course it is depend of filters, resolution etc.

bbilgiler
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 11:56 am
Full Name: Begum Bilgiler
Company Details: Mimr
Company Position Title: Geomatics Engineer
Country: Turkey
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: How to reduce project .pod size?

Post by bbilgiler » Fri Jan 12, 2018 6:12 am

Thanks! I'll check it out.
EPK3D wrote:
Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:45 pm
1. Export scans as .e57 or .fls or .las
2. Convert scans in Bentley Pointools PODcreator (it is free). There you can use "compression" and "spacing".

Test of 1 scan:
No compression, no spacing ~331 MB
No compression, spacing 1mm ~275 MB
Compression 1mm, no spacing ~189 MB
Compression 1mm, spacing 1mm ~157 MB

Of course it is depend of filters, resolution etc.

User avatar
jcoco3
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1337
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 5:43 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Coco
Company Details: Forte and Tablada
Company Position Title: AMM Division Leader
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: How to reduce project .pod size?

Post by jcoco3 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 1:27 am

Another possibility(and my favorite) is to simply use the spatial filter option within the .pod export dialog from Scene. Setting it to .25 inches or 6mm will result in a massive drop in file size without a significant loss detail level, but the export may take a little longer. The temporary files created during the .pod export can be very large so make sure you have plenty of drive space.

good luck

Return to “FARO SCENE”