Cleaned Points Still Show Up In Exported E57s

Discuss all Leica Cyclone, Cyclone REGISTER 360 & Cyclone FIELD 360 software here.
Post Reply
c2a
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2019 8:00 pm
4
Full Name: Corey Weiner
Company Details: C2A Studio
Company Position Title: Founder
Country: United States
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Cleaned Points Still Show Up In Exported E57s

Post by c2a »

I've noticed after meticulously cleaning points (both visual and cloud-to-cloud) in Register 360, they still get exported in E57 format (like this example). However, the same problem does not happen when exported as a unified RCS.

I've checked the preferences and we are set to export only cleaned E57s. Also, the files contain only some of the deleted points (like these trees).

Anyone know what this can be?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
c2a
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2019 8:00 pm
4
Full Name: Corey Weiner
Company Details: C2A Studio
Company Position Title: Founder
Country: United States
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Cleaned Points Still Show Up In Exported E57s

Post by c2a »

Still, no one else has this problem?
SCarbo
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2020 6:59 pm
4
Full Name: Samm Carbo
Company Details: Major Power Company
Company Position Title: Geospatial Engineer
Country: US
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cleaned Points Still Show Up In Exported E57s

Post by SCarbo »

I just submitted a support ticket to Leica for this same problem but with an RCP.

We do not have this issue with projects that have zero limit boxes saved. And with projects that do have limit boxes saved and ready for export when exporting the RCP files by limit box the the projects come out cleaned.

We did all kinds of trouble shooting to resolve the issue, so waiting to hear back from Leica after they get my data set.
User avatar
Carbix
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2019 1:36 am
5
Full Name: Daniel Loney
Company Details: Excelsior Measuring
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

Re: Cleaned Points Still Show Up In Exported E57s

Post by Carbix »

Did they get back to you?
Daniel Loney - Owner
Excelsior Measuring inc.
Vancouver - Okanagan - Calgary
www.ExcelsiorLevel.com
c2a
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2019 8:00 pm
4
Full Name: Corey Weiner
Company Details: C2A Studio
Company Position Title: Founder
Country: United States
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Cleaned Points Still Show Up In Exported E57s

Post by c2a »

I guess no one has heard from Leica on this? It still happens.

I don't think hit has anything to do with saved limit boxes since we never save them.
User avatar
Carbix
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2019 1:36 am
5
Full Name: Daniel Loney
Company Details: Excelsior Measuring
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

Re: Cleaned Points Still Show Up In Exported E57s

Post by Carbix »

I'm still running into it and it seems to be some kind of memory issue. Now my computer is strong enough.

Iv recently cleaned and exported 2 different reports and had 2 different outcomes. 1 where the data was clean and another using the exact same process exported with the junk data.

I also recently had a project where I went back in and restored all the points and cleaned them out and it worked... So something is not remembering to keep the points cleaned on export. Keep in mind it's non-destructively removing the points, the software is only ignoring the points.

Iv noticed that if you export and LGSx first the rest of your exports are junk...
Daniel Loney - Owner
Excelsior Measuring inc.
Vancouver - Okanagan - Calgary
www.ExcelsiorLevel.com
User avatar
gsisman
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 927
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:51 pm
7
Full Name: Steve Long
Company Details: Montgomery County DOT _ MD
Company Position Title: Land Survey Supervisor
Country: United States
Skype Name: gsisman1
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 785 times
Been thanked: 158 times

Re: Cleaned Points Still Show Up In Exported E57s

Post by gsisman »

c2a wrote: Fri Nov 10, 2023 11:41 am I've noticed after meticulously cleaning points (both visual and cloud-to-cloud) in Register 360, they still get exported in E57 format (like this example). However, the same problem does not happen when exported as a unified RCS.

I've checked the preferences and we are set to export only cleaned E57s. Also, the files contain only some of the deleted points (like these trees).

Anyone know what this can be?
Make sure you deleted both visible and cloud to cloud points. (in setup view or Bundle view) There are two different "flags set" in the DB -one to not use points for cloud to cloud and one for not visible-exportable points.
I think when you "clean points" in the Registration Align setups or view link tool, which you do in order to get good/better registrations, you are NOT cleaning the visible points, but only the Cloud to cloud usage. Someone can correct me if I'm wrong
c2a
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2019 8:00 pm
4
Full Name: Corey Weiner
Company Details: C2A Studio
Company Position Title: Founder
Country: United States
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Cleaned Points Still Show Up In Exported E57s

Post by c2a »

This happens after cleaning points (both visual and cloud-to-cloud). Both boxes are checked.

I then export two formats at the same time, a unified RCS and individual E57s. In most cases the RCS looks nice and clean but the E57s still show the cleaned points. This is despite both formats being executed in the same batch.

It is definitely a software bug that I would have hoped Leica would fix by now.
User avatar
gsisman
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 927
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:51 pm
7
Full Name: Steve Long
Company Details: Montgomery County DOT _ MD
Company Position Title: Land Survey Supervisor
Country: United States
Skype Name: gsisman1
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 785 times
Been thanked: 158 times

Re: Cleaned Points Still Show Up In Exported E57s

Post by gsisman »

c2a wrote: Fri May 17, 2024 8:20 pm This happens after cleaning points (both visual and cloud-to-cloud). Both boxes are checked.

I then export two formats at the same time, a unified RCS and individual E57s. In most cases the RCS looks nice and clean but the E57s still show the cleaned points. This is despite both formats being executed in the same batch.

It is definitely a software bug that I would have hoped Leica would fix by now.
I'll have to check mine. Is it either type of E5 export7?, both individual setups and/or As one large file? Are you decimating it any on export?
c2a
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2019 8:00 pm
4
Full Name: Corey Weiner
Company Details: C2A Studio
Company Position Title: Founder
Country: United States
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Cleaned Points Still Show Up In Exported E57s

Post by c2a »

I am just exporting two file types: individual E57s and unified RCS. There are no changes to any other settings and there is no decimation. The cleaned points that show up on the export do not appear on the screen when the project is open.
Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone, Cyclone REGISTER 360 & Cyclone FIELD 360”