When a new virtual target is renamed, the old target has the same name.

Discuss all Leica Cyclone, Cyclone REGISTER 360 & Cyclone FIELD 360 software here.
Post Reply
Nicolás González
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2023 8:16 pm
Full Name: Nicolás González
Company Details: Civil Engineering
Company Position Title: Civil Enginner
Country: Colombia
Skype Name: Nicolás
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 4 times

When a new virtual target is renamed, the old target has the same name.

Post by Nicolás González »

Hi, When I create a new virtual target, and rename it to perform the georeferencing process, the other targets that were used for registration are renamed the same, making georeferencing impossible due to having virtual targets with the same name solution?
User avatar
Kruse
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2021 3:09 pm
2
Full Name: Eric Kruse
Company Details: Hensel Phelps - Construction
Company Position Title: VDC Manager
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 226 times

Re: When a new virtual target is renamed, the old target has the same name.

Post by Kruse »

Nicolás González wrote: Fri Sep 15, 2023 4:11 pm Hi, When I create a new virtual target, and rename it to perform the georeferencing process, the other targets that were used for registration are renamed the same, making georeferencing impossible due to having virtual targets with the same name solution?
When you apply control using the .txt file, Register 360 will try to find the common targets with your control points and then rename all the targets (virtual targets, spheres, B/W targets, etc.) to match your control .txt file. Either delete the original control points if they're not needed after creating the new virtual control points, delete the smart labels that were either auto/manually created so Reg360 just renames them all again, or maybe change the names of the contorl points used in the .txt file? If you have duplicate control points with the same smart labels, Reg360 might just keep using the original points.

Unless I'm not understanding the issue at hand,... just label the control points in your .txt file to be exactly what you want so Register 360 auto labels them correctly? Also when you go and apply the control points, after Reg360 finds the common control points/virtual targets, it should give you a dialog box or prompt asking if you want to rename the matching targets. I think hitting no on that should fix the issue for you... maybe.

Last thing, are you on the 2023.0.3 version of Reg360 that was released a couple weeks ago. I'm not totally sure if this issue you're having is a bug or not, but it's always best to stay on the latest version if you aren't already.
Nicolás González
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2023 8:16 pm
Full Name: Nicolás González
Company Details: Civil Engineering
Company Position Title: Civil Enginner
Country: Colombia
Skype Name: Nicolás
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 4 times

Re: When a new virtual target is renamed, the old target has the same name.

Post by Nicolás González »

Kruse wrote: Sat Sep 16, 2023 6:35 am
Nicolás González wrote: Fri Sep 15, 2023 4:11 pm Hi, When I create a new virtual target, and rename it to perform the georeferencing process, the other targets that were used for registration are renamed the same, making georeferencing impossible due to having virtual targets with the same name solution?
When you apply control using the .txt file, Register 360 will try to find the common targets with your control points and then rename all the targets (virtual targets, spheres, B/W targets, etc.) to match your control .txt file. Either delete the original control points if they're not needed after creating the new virtual control points, delete the smart labels that were either auto/manually created so Reg360 just renames them all again, or maybe change the names of the contorl points used in the .txt file? If you have duplicate control points with the same smart labels, Reg360 might just keep using the original points.

Unless I'm not understanding the issue at hand,... just label the control points in your .txt file to be exactly what you want so Register 360 auto labels them correctly? Also when you go and apply the control points, after Reg360 finds the common control points/virtual targets, it should give you a dialog box or prompt asking if you want to rename the matching targets. I think hitting no on that should fix the issue for you... maybe.

Last thing, are you on the 2023.0.3 version of Reg360 that was released a couple weeks ago. I'm not totally sure if this issue you're having is a bug or not, but it's always best to stay on the latest version if you aren't already.
Hello, thank you very much for your answer.

Once I finished the Registration, I deleted all the Targets created automatically, and then I created the 3 Digital Targets which had information of their coordinates, when the dialog box popped up, I hit the "NO" option, and I was able to create my Georeferencing without any problem.

Thank you very much

— Nicolás.
Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone, Cyclone REGISTER 360 & Cyclone FIELD 360”