Cyclone PTS file Import - Largest file

Discuss all Cyclone Leica Cyclone, Field 360 & Register 360 related issues here.
Post Reply
mickharris71
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 12:05 pm
Full Name: Michael Harris
Company Details: Seam Surveys
Company Position Title: Director
Country: Australia
Skype Name: mickonbribie
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Cyclone PTS file Import - Largest file

Post by mickharris71 »

Hi All
I have exported a 300GB PTS file from Cyclone 2020 to upload via FTP to a modeller. They said they cant import PTS files larger than 90 GB. Obviously I can break it into smaller sections, but was wondering if this is correct? How can cyclone not import a file it has exported?

User avatar
Phil Marsh
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2339
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 2:28 pm
Full Name: Phil Marsh
Company Details: Laser Scanning Forum Ltd
Company Position Title: Technical Director
Country: UK
Skype Name: phil.h.marsh
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Barnsley, UK
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 11 times
Contact:

Re: Cyclone PTS file Import - Largest file

Post by Phil Marsh »

If it’s cyclone to cyclone why not use an LGS file or JetStream?
LASER SCANNING FORUM
[email protected]

Yuelin
I have made 80-90 posts
I have made 80-90 posts
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 5:16 am
Full Name: Yuelin
Company Details: Leica Geosystems
Company Position Title: Lead software engineer
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Cyclone PTS file Import - Largest file

Post by Yuelin »

Why not use .imp file directly? No export and import is needed.

User avatar
gsisman
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:51 pm
Full Name: Steve Long
Company Details: Montgomery County DOT _ MD
Company Position Title: Land Survey Supervisor
Country: United States
Skype Name: gsisman1
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 125 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Cyclone PTS file Import - Largest file

Post by gsisman »

mickharris71 wrote:
Fri May 22, 2020 9:35 pm
Hi All
I have exported a 300GB PTS file from Cyclone 2020 to upload via FTP to a modeller. They said they cant import PTS files larger than 90 GB. Obviously I can break it into smaller sections, but was wondering if this is correct? How can cyclone not import a file it has exported?
I assume because you are exporting .PTS that the modeller is NOT using Leica Product?

mike annear
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 5:45 am
Full Name: Mike Annear
Company Details: Mike Annear
Company Position Title: 3D Modeler
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: On an island off Brisbane ...
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 19 times
Contact:

Re: Cyclone PTS file Import - Largest file

Post by mike annear »

One way to get your large point-cloud into a Modelling package is to chop it into usable chunks.
In the past I have used a rectangular array of Limit boxes, in Cyclone, to accurately slice a large point cloud (of an entire Oil Rig) into manageable pieces.

The array is pretty easy to set up in the Limit box manager, and it can also be saved for later use.
You then switch the limit boxes on one at a time and export the contents. Each piece stays in the correct place relative to the others.
I found this related video.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d6F4Pn0MZm4

Export each chunk as an E.57 (not Pts) if you want more manageable files.
I don't have Cyclone in front of me, I have mocked up what your clipping cubes should look like.


Regards,
Mike
www.mikeannear.com
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone, Field 360 & Register 360”