Cyclone export - decimal digits in .pts format

Discuss all Cyclone related issues here.
Post Reply
MedoLedo
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 12:42 pm
Full Name: Medic Tomislav
Company Details: University of Bonn
Company Position Title: PhD student
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Cyclone export - decimal digits in .pts format

Post by MedoLedo » Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:23 am

Hi,

We recently noticed that point clouds that we export in .pts file format changed automatically the number of decimal digits from 6 to 3. For some applications we really need that additional precision and our whole workflow relies on pts format and it will be time consuming to change it to some self-defined ascii .txt file format. We are using Leica Cyclone 9.3.1, I guess the change occurred with the software update.

Does anyone known is there a possibility to switch the number of digits for the point cloud export in .pts back to 6 ?

Thanks,
Tom

jamesworrell
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:45 pm
Full Name: James Worrell
Company Details: Bennett and Francis
Company Position Title: Director
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Cyclone export - decimal digits in .pts format

Post by jamesworrell » Wed Jun 19, 2019 10:00 am

Not sure this is it - but won't take you long to find out.

Try Preferences | Point Cloud - good bets:

Point Cloud Resolution: 0.000001
Point Cloud Accuracy: 0.000001

Jetstream Voxel Size: 0.001 (probably just visualisation only, although vaguely recall this impacted import).
Last edited by jamesworrell on Wed Jun 19, 2019 12:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MedoLedo
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 12:42 pm
Full Name: Medic Tomislav
Company Details: University of Bonn
Company Position Title: PhD student
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Cyclone export - decimal digits in .pts format

Post by MedoLedo » Wed Jun 19, 2019 11:50 am

I have tried it. However, it doesn't help.

But thanks anyway for a hint.

mike annear
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 458
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 5:45 am
Full Name: Mike Annear
Company Details: Mike Annear
Company Position Title: 3D Modeler
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: On an island off Brisbane ...
Contact:

Re: Cyclone export - decimal digits in .pts format

Post by mike annear » Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:00 am

I don't have Cyclone in front of me at the moment, and I haven't worked with Pts files for years,
but from memory when you export a .Txt file from Cyclone you can increment the number of decimal places in one of the export dialogue box's.
Then you just rename the Txt to a PTS. I remember this being a slightly different process to just exporting a Pts file first up.
I hope that helps.
Mike.

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone”