Register 360

Discuss all Cyclone related issues here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Valentin
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 1:25 pm
Full Name: Valentin Vanhecke
Company Details: 4Visualization
Company Position Title: Owner Founder
Country: Netherlands
Skype Name: valentin_4visualization
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Register 360

Post by Valentin » Mon Jun 03, 2019 1:26 pm

Hi,

As a new user to register 360 I was wondering what the best set-up is for my laptop?
Right now I have a BTO laptop
i7-7700 4.20 GHz
GTX 1080 8GB VRAM (2x) SLi
64 GB RAM
And very decent SSD for running windows and 1 for projects I am working on.

Until recently I used to work with Faro Scene and my setup seemed fast but with register360 it feels kind of slow, would quadro-cards work faster or am I missing something else?

Thanks in advance!
Valentin
4Visualization - scanning everything worth scanning

4visualization.eu

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1722
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK

Re: Register 360

Post by pburrows145 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 1:32 pm

Should not feel slow... something might be up.

I have a Quadro P5000 on a laptop and it's blazingly quick (coupled with Xeon, 64gb Ram, SSD etc).

Do you mean the pointcloud view is slow? Importing? Calculations? Navigation?

Check you have the latest video drivers also.

User avatar
Valentin
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 1:25 pm
Full Name: Valentin Vanhecke
Company Details: 4Visualization
Company Position Title: Owner Founder
Country: Netherlands
Skype Name: valentin_4visualization
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Register 360

Post by Valentin » Mon Jun 03, 2019 2:14 pm

Mostly importing but exporting also feels slow.


Well if it is not the latest it should be very recent, 1 or 2 week old drivers
4Visualization - scanning everything worth scanning

4visualization.eu

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1722
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK

Re: Register 360

Post by pburrows145 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 2:42 pm

Are you on latest FW for RTC360 (Assuming that's what you're using?) with reduced file sizes?

If you are using BLK360, are you downloading data using BLK Data Manager first (rather than direct connection).

Or, are you importing FLS data?

User avatar
Valentin
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 1:25 pm
Full Name: Valentin Vanhecke
Company Details: 4Visualization
Company Position Title: Owner Founder
Country: Netherlands
Skype Name: valentin_4visualization
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Register 360

Post by Valentin » Mon Jun 03, 2019 2:47 pm

I am using rtc360 direct from the usb drive.

What are the reduced file sizes, and where can I find them?

FW 1.3.161
4Visualization - scanning everything worth scanning

4visualization.eu

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1722
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK

Re: Register 360

Post by pburrows145 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 4:21 pm

Valentin wrote:
Mon Jun 03, 2019 2:47 pm
I am using rtc360 direct from the usb drive.

What are the reduced file sizes, and where can I find them?

FW 1.3.161
This is the old FW and you should download the data to your SSD before importing.

New FW release notes can be found here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/pkeym0zo12g6g ... n.pdf?dl=0

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone”