Poor Performance with shaded clouds

Discuss all Cyclone related issues here.
Post Reply
Moc
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 9:33 am
Full Name: Matthias Korscheck
Company Details: TPI Vermessungsgesellschaft mbH
Company Position Title: Surveying Engineer
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No

Poor Performance with shaded clouds

Post by Moc » Sat May 11, 2019 5:00 pm

Hey everyone,

when i turn on the "Cloud Shaded" option, my viewing performace in the the ModelSpace is going down tremendously. I guess nobody uses this option much, but since I had to import point clouds without RGB nor intensity values I need this option to be turned on.
Without this option the performance is just fine. Strange thing is, when I turn off the option, select one point so that it gets highlighted, the other point clouds get "shaded" (and a bit transparent) but my performance is still good.
Any similar experiences?
My computer has a GeForce GTX 1060, an i7 @ 3.6 and 64 Gbyte RAM.

User avatar
smacl
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:12 pm
Full Name: Shane MacLaughlin
Company Details: Atlas Computers Ltd
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Country: Ireland
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: Poor Performance with shaded clouds

Post by smacl » Sun May 12, 2019 1:07 pm

Worth firing up task manager and seeing whether the GPU or CPU is the bottleneck. Is it a laptop or desktop as laptop versions of many chips don't give the same performance as desktop.

Moc
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 9:33 am
Full Name: Matthias Korscheck
Company Details: TPI Vermessungsgesellschaft mbH
Company Position Title: Surveying Engineer
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Poor Performance with shaded clouds

Post by Moc » Mon May 13, 2019 7:12 am

It is a desktop computer.

Task manager tells me, the GPU is the bottleneck. Even with a single shaded point cloud in the ModelSpace the GPU load is at 100%. Performance is fine in Recap with shaded clouds. I wonder if it is my setup or is it poor programming of shaded clouds in cyclone?

User avatar
Matt Young
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3797
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:03 pm
Full Name: Matt Young
Company Details: Baker Hicks
Company Position Title: CAD-BIM Lead
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Poor Performance with shaded clouds

Post by Matt Young » Mon May 13, 2019 8:56 am

Try changing the OpenGL mode.

Press the windows button. And select All Programs/Leica Geosystems/Cyclone/Utilities/Open GL Modes

You may need to try a few to find what works best.
Arya Stark - Lots of people name their swords.
The Hound - Lots of c----s.

User avatar
smacl
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:12 pm
Full Name: Shane MacLaughlin
Company Details: Atlas Computers Ltd
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Country: Ireland
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: Poor Performance with shaded clouds

Post by smacl » Mon May 13, 2019 11:53 am

Moc wrote:
Mon May 13, 2019 7:12 am
It is a desktop computer.

Task manager tells me, the GPU is the bottleneck. Even with a single shaded point cloud in the ModelSpace the GPU load is at 100%. Performance is fine in Recap with shaded clouds. I wonder if it is my setup or is it poor programming of shaded clouds in cyclone?
Could be a number of things. In addition to the OpenGL mode I'd try dropping the display resolution to get more speed. GPUs tend to bottleneck on the number of pixels they need to render per frame so if you're currently running at 2560 or 1920 pixels wide, try dropping to 1280. Could be that the style of shading the Cyclone is using is compute intensive and needs a very beefy GPU. The 1060 is at the lower end of things by today's standards.

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1722
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK

Re: Poor Performance with shaded clouds

Post by pburrows145 » Mon May 13, 2019 2:39 pm

This mode is quite processor intensive and will result in slower performance than standard pointcloud views.

The other function you are talking about is a selection "feature" - the clouds not selected are not "shaded" by normal computation (more like a transparency filter) - hence the speed is not affected.

Check your OpenGL settings, make sure Cyclone is using the Graphics Card, ensure you're on the latest drivers etc...

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone”