"Moving" a Register360 Project

Discuss all Cyclone related issues here.
Post Reply
User avatar
formbysurveys
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:03 pm
Full Name: Andy Roberts
Company Details: Formby Surveys Ltd
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Country: UK
Skype Name: formbysurveys
Linkedin Profile: Yes

"Moving" a Register360 Project

Post by formbysurveys » Tue Mar 06, 2018 5:38 pm

Can anyone shed any light on how to "move" a Register360 project to another PC. I have the project stored on an external HDD and set the storage path on the new PC to reflect the HDD containing the project but the project doesn't appear in the OPEN dialogue.

I'm going to experiment with archiving and importing but this (assuming it works) would be a pretty time consuming process to simply move the project to another PC.

Any thoughts?
Andy

Andy Roberts
Formby Surveys Ltd

User avatar
formbysurveys
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:03 pm
Full Name: Andy Roberts
Company Details: Formby Surveys Ltd
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Country: UK
Skype Name: formbysurveys
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: "Moving" a Register360 Project

Post by formbysurveys » Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:16 pm

Archiving can't be the way to do this as the 75GB project took 2.5 hrs to archive!
Andy

Andy Roberts
Formby Surveys Ltd

User avatar
stevenramsey
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1616
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:22 pm
Full Name: Steven Ramsey
Company Details: 4DMax
Company Position Title: Technical Specialist Scanning
Country: UK
Skype Name: steven.ramsey
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London
Contact:

Re: "Moving" a Register360 Project

Post by stevenramsey » Thu Mar 08, 2018 12:55 pm

A few pointers.

Reg360 is working in Jetstream so just moving a folder from one place to another wont work as the Database system doesn't work like that.

When you installed Reg360 you would have pointed to the external drive as your project Storage location which is never a good idea as external drives are slow and can potential corupt data. I would always advise keeping at least the jobs your working on on an internal drive. You can have multiple storage locations some on external (I do this only for demo porposes)

You are right that archiving is the way to move a project from one Jetstream storage location to another. you would normally have set an archive location in your REg360 settings. I would then archive the project and move it either over a natwork or external drive and import it in to the second reg360 Jetstream starage loaction.
I will hazzard a guess that the reason it took so long is that your in eccense copying from the the same drive to the same drive. which will always take a long time.
Steven Ramsey

Home steven.ramsey@laserscanningforum.com
Work steven@4DMax.co.uk
Mobile +44 7766 310 915

User avatar
formbysurveys
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:03 pm
Full Name: Andy Roberts
Company Details: Formby Surveys Ltd
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Country: UK
Skype Name: formbysurveys
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: "Moving" a Register360 Project

Post by formbysurveys » Thu Mar 08, 2018 1:02 pm

Thanks Steve - you’ve answered my fear. That effectively renders Register360 a pretty inefficient solution for non-Jetstream users who move data about - I appreciate that’s the point of JS though but even so, it does seem pretty limiting
Andy

Andy Roberts
Formby Surveys Ltd

User avatar
gsisman
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:51 pm
Full Name: Steve Long
Company Details: Montgomery County DOT _ MD
Company Position Title: Land Survey Supervisor
Country: United States
Skype Name: gsisman1
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: "Moving" a Register360 Project

Post by gsisman » Fri Jul 06, 2018 8:19 pm

formbysurveys wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 5:38 pm
Can anyone shed any light on how to "move" a Register360 project to another PC. I have the project stored on an external HDD and set the storage path on the new PC to reflect the HDD containing the project but the project doesn't appear in the OPEN dialogue.

I'm going to experiment with archiving and importing but this (assuming it works) would be a pretty time consuming process to simply move the project to another PC.

Any thoughts?
We are doing this all the time and it is SLOW, which is why we are speeding adaptation of a NAS with a 1GB pipeline to our workstations.
We are opening and running small projects from a HDD, but probably an external SSD would be better and internal SSD even better.
There are all kinds of Storage locations you designate in Register 360 and if you haven't designated that HDD as a storage location in the computer you are moving to it won't "SEE" it. Once you plug the HDD in and designate the Drive and folder where your Register 360 fiels are then it should "see". The hard part is making sure you get the right file folder full of data since it has encrypted names. One of the ways we found we can double check is with the folder that has the Cubeface photos in and look at the photos to recognize the project

(i.e. X:\REGISTER 360 WORKING\5a744817-d3d9-4116-8e0b-a3f6991950ac\SetupsFolder )
Register_360_working_directory_2018-07-06_1515.png
Cubeface_2018-07-06_1518.png
cube_l.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone”