To renew Pointools or not?

Discuss all Bentley Pointools related issues here.
max72
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 635
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:32 pm
Full Name: Massimo De Marchi
Company Details: Massimo De Marchi
Company Position Title: freelancer
Country: Italy
Skype Name: massimo_de_marchi

Re: To renew Pointools or not?

Post by max72 » Thu Jul 24, 2014 5:18 pm

gchliu wrote: Anyone, please tell me what are other options other than Pointool and Cyclone for quality animations without the flickering effect?
Check Arena 4D

Massimo
ing. Massimo De Marchi - +39 347 32 17 049 - www.studiodemarchi.net

RoeePeled
I have made 30-40 posts
I have made 30-40 posts
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 3:16 pm
Full Name: Roee Peled
Company Details: Mantis Vision
Company Position Title: Director of Sales
Country: Israel
Skype Name: peledroee
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: To renew Pointools or not?

Post by RoeePeled » Thu Jul 24, 2014 9:05 pm

Hi guys

I agree fully with Massimo.

For those of you who are staying on the point cloud level, I would highly recommend to have a close look at Arena4D by Veesus (www.veesus.com). I have seen a couple of demonstrations from them (including a 500 million points scan of a London neighbourhood) and the capabilities and ease of use are very impressive.

With a very competitive price, I think it can be a viable alternative in many cases.

Roee

Dave Foster
I have made 90-100 posts
I have made 90-100 posts
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 7:06 pm
Full Name: David Foster
Company Details: CIRCs
Company Position Title: Principal Consultant
Country: United Kingdom
Skype Name: david.w.foster116
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: To renew Pointools or not?

Post by Dave Foster » Thu Jul 24, 2014 11:19 pm

I would agree with both Roee and Massimo. Check out Arena4d, very versatile and unbelievably good value, priced very competitively
Dave

It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data. Insensibly one begins to twist facts to suit theories, instead of theories to suit facts

twitter: @fozzy116

hypsometric
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 6:50 pm
Full Name: Arash Yaghoubi
Company Details: Hypsometric
Company Position Title: Director of Cartography
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: To renew Pointools or not?

Post by hypsometric » Thu Jul 24, 2014 11:41 pm

I think it was a dumb move to cut pointools for rhino... Rhino has a bigger user base than Bentley... Bentley needs a more open platform approach if its going to succeed against Autodesk.

User avatar
ddustin
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 914
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:28 pm
Full Name: David Dustin
Company Details: FARO Technologies
Company Position Title: Dir of Public Safety Forensic Services
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Georgia, USA.. Planet Earth

Re: To renew Pointools or not?

Post by ddustin » Thu Aug 14, 2014 12:05 pm

Ben fredericque wrote:
The 64 bit should come end of the summer.
Sorry to be issue focused, but the end of summer is nearing.
Any news of the 64 bit version?

David

User avatar
DanCutler
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 2:21 pm
Full Name: Dan Cutler
Company Details: Bentley Systems
Company Position Title: Application Engineer
Country: UK
Skype Name: dan_pointools
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London, UK

Re: To renew Pointools or not?

Post by DanCutler » Thu Aug 14, 2014 12:13 pm

HI David,
We are testing it internally, with a beta due out soon.
Hopefully Ben can provide more details...

User avatar
dan_mccurdy
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 2:34 am
Full Name: Daniel McCurdy
Company Details: Geometria Ltd.
Company Position Title: Technical Director
Country: New Zealand
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: To renew Pointools or not?

Post by dan_mccurdy » Thu Aug 14, 2014 8:54 pm

Is there any chance of an early public or restricted public beta test? I can't speak for others but I'd be happy to endure beta software in order to get past the 32bit limitations, as well as providing feedback to Bentley.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Dan McCurdy
Geometria Heritage Management
http://geometria.co.nz/

Ben fredericque
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 8:02 pm
Full Name: benoit Fredericque
Company Details: Bentley Systems Inc.
Company Position Title: Product Manager
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: To renew Pointools or not?

Post by Ben fredericque » Thu Aug 28, 2014 4:03 am

Hi,

I just made another post announcing the availability of the Bentley Pointools SELECTseries 1 – 64 bit beta edition.

Although it is not a full release as we did ambition (hard work was not enough to meet the date), it has already most of the capabilities embedded.

We miss some importers and still have known bugs to be fixed but the stability should be already quite good and known issues are the same than in the 32 bit edition.

I invite those interested in testing to join the dedicated Bentley Community.

Tx for your interest and we look forward to your feedback.

Ben

User avatar
ddustin
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 914
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:28 pm
Full Name: David Dustin
Company Details: FARO Technologies
Company Position Title: Dir of Public Safety Forensic Services
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Georgia, USA.. Planet Earth

Re: To renew Pointools or not?

Post by ddustin » Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:28 am

Ben,
I would like to assist, how do I do so?

David

User avatar
DanCutler
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 2:21 pm
Full Name: Dan Cutler
Company Details: Bentley Systems
Company Position Title: Application Engineer
Country: UK
Skype Name: dan_pointools
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London, UK

Re: To renew Pointools or not?

Post by DanCutler » Thu Aug 28, 2014 4:17 pm

HI David, just go to the Bentley website, and find the latest installer - here's the link: http://select.bentley.com/FulfillmentCe ... ineID=108#

Return to “Bentley Pointools”