Faro Scene and importing survey points

To chat about anything else.
Post Reply
fobos8
Forum Supporter
Forum Supporter
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 9:19 pm
Full Name: Andrew
Company Details: Medina Surveys
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Uk
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Faro Scene and importing survey points

Post by fobos8 »

Hi guys

I've created a point cloud in Scene and the registration is very tight. I then import three points from a separate control survey I carried out by traversing with a total station. As the scans in the cluster are locked by the Scan Manager the scans in the cluster do not move in relation to each other but the cluster as a whole orientates itself to suit my surveyed points.

The co-ordinates of my surveyed points get altered slightly by Scene as Scene creates a best fit between the cluster and my surveyed points.

However, what if I didn't want the co-ordinates of my surveyed points to change but I wanted Scene to adjust the scans slightly by stretching them or compacting them within the cluster to fit my surveyed points co-ordinates exactly. How do I do that?

Cheers, Andrew
Emanuele
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:31 am
Full Name: Emanuele Ferrari
Company Details: Studio FERRARI
Company Position Title: Titolare
Country: Italia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Castellamonte (TO)
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Faro Scene and importing survey points

Post by Emanuele »

Hi
In Scene I don't think it can be done because it performs a rigid rotation and translation.
What you ask for requires deformation.
Maybe it can be done with cloud compare
pomped
I have made 100> posts
I have made 100> posts
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:55 pm
Full Name: Daniel Pompe
Company Details: FARO
Company Position Title: Team Lead Software Engineering
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Faro Scene and importing survey points

Post by pomped »

Hi Andrew,

external references can be handled in three ways in SCENE:
  • Use a scan folder instead of a cluster (can be changed in the properties dialog of a cluster in the folder tab by unticking the cluster checkbox). Then all scans are registered independently against the external references. No registration between the scans happens.
  • First register a cluster and lock its ScanManager. Then import external references and run a 2nd registration on the top level cluster. That will not change the relative placement of all objects inside the first cluster.
  • First import the external references. Then run registration on a cluster (must be target based). References will be used during the alignment of objects inside the cluster. Errors to references distribute also between scans.
Regards,
Daniel
SAttaya
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 4:04 pm
Full Name: Steve Attaya
Company Details: Geocent
Company Position Title: Sr. Software Analyst [RemoteSensingEngr]
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Faro Scene and importing survey points

Post by SAttaya »

pomped wrote: Mon Apr 06, 2020 3:05 pm Hi Andrew,

external references can be handled in three ways in SCENE:
  • Use a scan folder instead of a cluster (can be changed in the properties dialog of a cluster in the folder tab by unticking the cluster checkbox). Then all scans are registered independently against the external references. No registration between the scans happens.
  • First register a cluster and lock its ScanManager. Then import external references and run a 2nd registration on the top level cluster. That will not change the relative placement of all objects inside the first cluster.
  • First import the external references. Then run registration on a cluster (must be target based). References will be used during the alignment of objects inside the cluster. Errors to references distribute also between scans.
Regards,
Daniel
I didn't know the change folder from cluster to non-cluster trick/process.
I remember when new > cluster was added as opposed to having just new > folder, ver 5.?

is this documented anywhere...probably other things I might use and don't know.
Daniel, thanks for the detailed reply.

What happens if you don't have references and register a folder with scans that is not marked as a cluster?

What other special/hidden properties does marking a folder as "a cluster" or "not a cluster" generate/result in?"
pomped
I have made 100> posts
I have made 100> posts
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:55 pm
Full Name: Daniel Pompe
Company Details: FARO
Company Position Title: Team Lead Software Engineering
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Faro Scene and importing survey points

Post by pomped »

SAttaya wrote: Mon Apr 06, 2020 3:20 pm I didn't know the change folder from cluster to non-cluster trick/process.
I remember when new > cluster was added as opposed to having just new > folder, ver 5.?

is this documented anywhere...probably other things I might use and don't know.
Daniel, thanks for the detailed reply.

What happens if you don't have references and register a folder with scans that is not marked as a cluster?

What other special/hidden properties does marking a folder as "a cluster" or "not a cluster" generate/result in?"
Steve,
I assume that this is documented in the manual ... somewhere.
Registration without references on a scan folder that is not a cluster will fail.
No further secret features that I am currently aware of :)
fobos8
Forum Supporter
Forum Supporter
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 9:19 pm
Full Name: Andrew
Company Details: Medina Surveys
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Uk
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Faro Scene and importing survey points

Post by fobos8 »

Pomped - thanks for explaining that and how to do it

Cheers, Andrew
User avatar
landmeterbeuckx
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 730
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 5:19 pm
Full Name: Lieven Beuckx
Company Details: Studiebureau Beuckx
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Belgium
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 130 times

Re: Faro Scene and importing survey points

Post by landmeterbeuckx »

fobos8 wrote: Tue Apr 07, 2020 11:43 am Pomped - thanks for explaining that and how to do it

Cheers, Andrew
check this out.

Made this a few years ago
https://www.youtube.com/watch?reload=9&v=K8Wf9gwu0ZU

it was in this thread
https://laserscanningforum.com/forum/vi ... 49&t=13193
LSBbvba
Surveying services - 3D Laserscanning
Tel : +32477753126
www.lsbbvba.be
[email protected]
fobos8
Forum Supporter
Forum Supporter
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 9:19 pm
Full Name: Andrew
Company Details: Medina Surveys
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Uk
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Faro Scene and importing survey points

Post by fobos8 »

landmeterbeuckx wrote: Tue Apr 07, 2020 11:54 am check this out.

Made this a few years ago
https://www.youtube.com/watch?reload=9&v=K8Wf9gwu0ZU

it was in this thread
https://laserscanningforum.com/forum/vi ... 49&t=13193


Hi Lieven

Many thanks for the link to your video. I tried what you show but Scene keeps slightly altering the co-ordinates of my survey control.

I don't know what I'm doing wrong. Arghh!

Cheers, Andrew
User avatar
landmeterbeuckx
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 730
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 5:19 pm
Full Name: Lieven Beuckx
Company Details: Studiebureau Beuckx
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Belgium
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 130 times

Re: Faro Scene and importing survey points

Post by landmeterbeuckx »

how much is slightly? mm's, cm's, m's ?
LSBbvba
Surveying services - 3D Laserscanning
Tel : +32477753126
www.lsbbvba.be
[email protected]
fobos8
Forum Supporter
Forum Supporter
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 9:19 pm
Full Name: Andrew
Company Details: Medina Surveys
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Uk
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Faro Scene and importing survey points

Post by fobos8 »

x and y are out by max 3mm, z is out by 10mm on one. Its acceptable but I thought that doing it this way the reference co-ordinates don't change at all?
Post Reply

Return to “General Chat”