Scanning Workstation

CAD Workstations, Network Attached Storage [NAS], Servers, Monitors, SSD`s, Imaging Systems, Field Kit: Targets & Tripods etc.
m1payne
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Full Name: Michael Payne
Company Details: Heading and Associates
Company Position Title: Laser Scanning and Monitoring Manager
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Scanning Workstation

Post by m1payne »

Good afternoon,

We are in the market for a new workstation for our laser scanning & MLS department.

Wondering if you guys would have any recommendations as to spec? I’m no IT expert. Will obviously need a large amount of storage, ram and a decent CPU for point cloud processing, but I’m unsure of things like graphics cards or other items which may be critical. I guess I need to know where to spend money and where not to.

Anything advice/things to be aware of will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
MichaelKassler
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Full Name: Michael Kaßler
Company Details: Neuruppiner Industrieverlagerungs- GmbH
Company Position Title: Surveying Technician
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Scanning Workstation

Post by MichaelKassler »

Hi Michael

Ha a look at this thread:
https://laserscanningforum.com/forum/vi ... orkstation

Sincerely Michael
smacl
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Full Name: Shane MacLaughlin
Company Details: Atlas Computers Ltd
Company Position Title: Managing Director

Post by smacl »