AMD RYZEN

Total Stations, CAD Workstations, SSD`s, Imaging Systems, Targets & Tripods Etc.
User avatar
Jason Warren
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2805
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:21 am
Full Name: Jason Warren
Company Details: Laser Scanning Forum Ltd
Company Position Title: Co-Founder
Country: UK
Skype Name: jason_warren
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Retford, UK

AMD RYZEN

Post by Jason Warren » Sat Feb 25, 2017 5:03 pm

Image


youtu.be/qL7RPq5FM9E

Looking forward to seeing what AMD RYZEN based workstations come out of Scan, I see they have announced some gaming machines.... :)
https://www.scan.co.uk/3xs/configurator ... -gaming-pc


Has anyone else been following the RYZEN story?
Jason Warren

#ThePowerofLSF

james.still
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 12:18 pm
Full Name: James Still
Company Details: Point 2 Surveyors
Company Position Title: BIM Technical Manager
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK

Re: AMD RYZEN

Post by james.still » Sun Feb 26, 2017 10:35 am

i have a little bit, I'm excited as i want to upgrade my PC soon

Christophe21
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 10:12 am
Full Name: Christophe
Company Details: AB VD
Company Position Title: Technician
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: AMD RYZEN

Post by Christophe21 » Thu Mar 02, 2017 5:14 pm

CPU Bench says that Ryzen 1800x is better than i7 6800k that is already a nice performing one.
from my distributor, price of Ryzen is only +70 € more.
May worth the price.

haven't compared the global configuration price yet. I'll give this a check.

Scott
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 492
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:39 pm
Full Name: Scott Page
Company Details: Scott Page Design- Architectural service
Company Position Title: Freelance
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: AMD RYZEN

Post by Scott » Thu Mar 02, 2017 11:58 pm

https://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2017/03 ... en-review/
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X still behind Intel, but it’s great for the price
Review: "an excellent workstation CPU, but it doesn't game as hard as we hoped."
...
"When the first details on Zen were dropped, AMD said it was aiming for a 40 percent uplift in IPC. Regardless of whether it was smart marketing or a genuinely unexpected result, that extra 12 percent increase in IPC means Ryzen performs better than Intel's massively expensive multi-core Broadwell-E line in a range of workstation and productivity tasks, and better than Intel's Kaby Lake 7700K, provided the apps you use can take full advantage of all eight cores".
...

User avatar
Jason Warren
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2805
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:21 am
Full Name: Jason Warren
Company Details: Laser Scanning Forum Ltd
Company Position Title: Co-Founder
Country: UK
Skype Name: jason_warren
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Retford, UK

Re: AMD RYZEN

Post by Jason Warren » Thu Mar 09, 2017 8:28 am

Jason Warren

#ThePowerofLSF

RHadf86
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 5:51 pm
Full Name: Ross Hadford
Company Details: Watt Consulting Group
Company Position Title: Survey Technologist
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: AMD RYZEN

Post by RHadf86 » Tue Mar 21, 2017 11:28 pm

Has anyone tested Leica Cyclone with any of these new "Ryzen" processors yet? With 8 cores and 16 threads, as well as 20MB of total cache for the 1800X, I'd assume it would provide absolutely beastly performance for the price. There's always the concern that Cyclone is optimized for Intel's instructions sets though.

Would love some feedback!

jax120
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 1:33 am
Full Name: Andy Jackson
Company Details: Project Surveyors
Company Position Title: BIM Spatial Manager
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: AMD RYZEN

Post by jax120 » Wed Mar 22, 2017 10:43 am

Does anyone know if AMD machines are restricted when it comes to RAM. Whenever I go to self build pc websites all amd machines are restricted to have upto 32gb ram. Where as intel based ones can can go to 128gb ram and beyond. Is this a system restriction or just a computer companies restriction.

User avatar
Jason Warren
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2805
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:21 am
Full Name: Jason Warren
Company Details: Laser Scanning Forum Ltd
Company Position Title: Co-Founder
Country: UK
Skype Name: jason_warren
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Retford, UK

Re: AMD RYZEN

Post by Jason Warren » Wed Mar 22, 2017 5:25 pm

jax120 wrote:Does anyone know if AMD machines are restricted when it comes to RAM. Whenever I go to self build pc websites all amd machines are restricted to have upto 32gb ram. Where as intel based ones can can go to 128gb ram and beyond. Is this a system restriction or just a computer companies restriction.
Some of the AMD RYZEN motherboards I've seen so far only support 64Gb RAM. Non ECC support. [4 x 16Gb modules]
eg:
Asus AMD AM4 Ryzen CROSSHAIR VI HERO X370 ATX Motherboard
https://www.scan.co.uk/products/asus-ro ... e-usb-31-a

MSI AMD Ryzen AM4 X370 XPOWER TITANIUM ATX Motherboard
https://www.scan.co.uk/products/msi-x37 ... otherboard

ASRock AMD AM4 Ryzen X370 Pro Gaming ATX Motherboard
https://www.scan.co.uk/products/asrock- ... 2-5gbe-atx
Jason Warren

#ThePowerofLSF

User avatar
TommyMaddox
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 7:15 pm
Full Name: Tommy R Maddox III
Company Details: BC Engineering and Design
Company Position Title: Engineer I
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Columbia, South Carolina

Re: AMD RYZEN

Post by TommyMaddox » Wed Mar 22, 2017 7:38 pm

I wish that AMD would hurry up and release the Opteron successor. 64GB is woefully inadequate for anything but a generic workstation here. Looking at 512GB DDR4 for the next major workstation I build.

User avatar
blazaj
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 414
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 1:07 pm
Full Name: Jiri Blazek
Company Details: Blazek Win Precision Systems
Company Position Title: 3D documentation
Country: Czech
Skype Name: blazaj
Linkedin Profile: No
Location: 50.2379311N, 12.8408917E

Re: AMD RYZEN

Post by blazaj » Tue May 16, 2017 6:57 pm

We got a Ryzen 7 1700 based PC and run a quick test against older i7 Intel PC. C2C registration in Scene took 4:30 minutes on the Intel computer and approx. 15! minutes on Ryzen. Both PC's with 32GB RAM and SSD drive. Very disapointing results. Anybody else had a chance to test Ryzen? Could it be that Scene is not optimalized for AMD processors?

Return to “Other Hardware”