Problem = 720 degree scans?!

Discuss all FARO related issues here.
Post Reply
teggs
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 1:57 pm
2
Full Name: Attewell
Company Details: Greenbank
Company Position Title: Greenbank
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: No

Problem = 720 degree scans?!

Post by teggs »

Hello all,

I have an intermittent problem with a Faro Focus 3D X130 scanner. Sometimes the scanner will perform a 720 degree scan instead of a 360deg scan. See attached preview. If i import the scan into recap it will compress it to 360deg and the scan is useless. Does anyone know why this is happening and how to solve it? annoyingly, resetting the scanner only solves the problem sometimes. i have no definitive way of resetting it.

Thanks
Rich
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
teggs
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 1:57 pm
2
Full Name: Attewell
Company Details: Greenbank
Company Position Title: Greenbank
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Problem = 720 degree scans?!

Post by teggs »

Image

in the image above you can see its done a 360deg horizontal scan (whilst rotating 180deg) and then its done another 360 deg horizontal scan (whilst rotating 180deg)
so in total its done a 720 deg horizontal scan whilst rotating 360 degs.

Does anyone have any ideas or solutions?!
Emanuele
I have made 50-60 posts
I have made 50-60 posts
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:31 am
6
Full Name: Emanuele Ferrari
Company Details: Studio FERRARI
Company Position Title: Titolare
Country: Italia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Castellamonte (TO)
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Problem = 720 degree scans?!

Post by Emanuele »

Hi,
I have an X330 and a similar "effect" happened to me in rooms with several mirrors on the walls.
The images seem extracted from Recap, even in Scene there is this error?
User avatar
Leandre Robitaille
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 309
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:53 am
2
Full Name: Leandre Robitaille
Company Details: Cima+
Company Position Title: Civil Technician
Country: Canada
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 104 times

Re: Problem = 720 degree scans?!

Post by Leandre Robitaille »

Maybe try updating the firmware?
teggs
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 1:57 pm
2
Full Name: Attewell
Company Details: Greenbank
Company Position Title: Greenbank
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Problem = 720 degree scans?!

Post by teggs »

Firmware is up to date. it was serviced a coupe of months ago.
The problem is happening during scanning. the photo preview is the direct scanner preview jpg. Ive tried importing them but the scan is fudged.
i did manage to get it to correct itself by changing the horizontal scan area from 0 -360 to 1-359. this worked first time. but i tried later in the day and it didnt work.

My current workflow in an attempt to get it working is:
try shortest scan (indoor under 10m, colour off, under 2 mins)
format SD card in scanner
reset to factory setting.
check date and time
turn on all sensors
restart scanner
ensure level
swap SD card
swap battery
try plugged in
check operating temperature
AND REPEAT!
VXGrid
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:47 am
4
Full Name: Martin Graner
Company Details: PointCab GmbH
Company Position Title: Research and Development
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 92 times
Been thanked: 83 times
Contact:

Re: Problem = 720 degree scans?!

Post by VXGrid »

teggs wrote: Thu Dec 16, 2021 9:38 am Firmware is up to date. it was serviced a coupe of months ago.
The problem is happening during scanning. the photo preview is the direct scanner preview jpg. Ive tried importing them but the scan is fudged.
i did manage to get it to correct itself by changing the horizontal scan area from 0 -360 to 1-359. this worked first time. but i tried later in the day and it didnt work.

[...]
I don't have the FARO options in my head currently but one parameter should be 0->360 while the other is 0->180 ° right?
Is it possible that these two got switched or something, or are set incorrectly?
What is your vertical scan area?

This sounds honestly more like a thing FARO directly can help you with....
teggs
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 1:57 pm
2
Full Name: Attewell
Company Details: Greenbank
Company Position Title: Greenbank
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Problem = 720 degree scans?!

Post by teggs »

Ive given up and am sending it back to Faro.

Rich
Post Reply

Return to “FARO”