point cloud processing - black circle from scan location

Discuss all Faro related issues here.
jramirez
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2015 1:08 am
Full Name: Jessica Ramirez
Company Details: Irvine Company
Company Position Title: Field GIS Technician
Country: US
Linkedin Profile: Yes

point cloud processing - black circle from scan location

Post by jramirez » Fri May 12, 2017 11:56 pm

Hi,

I have these crazy black circles from the scan location in my project point cloud. I created my project point cloud useing Homogenize point density and I also applied color balance. Can someone help me out and tell me how to get rid of these. Maybe I am not starting my processing correctly.

Thanks,
Black Holes.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jessica Ramirez
Field GIS Technician
3D Reality Capture Specialist

pointinator
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 1:27 pm
Full Name: Joachim Vollrath
Company Details: retired
Company Position Title: retired
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: point cloud processing - black circle from scan location

Post by pointinator » Mon May 15, 2017 7:10 am

Jessica, when you visualize not the PPC, but the SPCs, are you still missing points at the scanner locations?

DavidL
I have made 30-40 posts
I have made 30-40 posts
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 1:11 pm
Full Name: David Lander
Company Details: Thames Valley Police Authority
Company Position Title: Crime Scene Surveyor
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: point cloud processing - black circle from scan location

Post by DavidL » Mon May 15, 2017 11:28 am

Did you tick the edge filter box when you first processed the scans? This filter removes alot of data from the ground and will reduce your overlap.

jramirez
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2015 1:08 am
Full Name: Jessica Ramirez
Company Details: Irvine Company
Company Position Title: Field GIS Technician
Country: US
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: point cloud processing - black circle from scan location

Post by jramirez » Mon May 15, 2017 5:40 pm

Yes I am missing the points at the scanner locations viewing SPCs.

And I'm not sure if I ticked the edge filter box or not. I do not use those settings very often.

Thanks for the tip about the edge filter box.
Jessica Ramirez
Field GIS Technician
3D Reality Capture Specialist

User avatar
3DForensics
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1638
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 1:52 am
Full Name: Eugene Liscio
Company Details: AI2-3D Forensics
Company Position Title: Owner
Skype Name: eliscio
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: point cloud processing - black circle from scan location

Post by 3DForensics » Tue May 16, 2017 3:15 am

What version of Scene are you using and have you used the new Edge Artifact filter? this is an aggressive filter that could potentially remove good points.

Eugene

User avatar
Formula1982
I have made 80-90 posts
I have made 80-90 posts
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 4:02 pm
Full Name: Stephen Ferrari
Company Details: UTEC StarNet Geomatics
Company Position Title: Technical Lead
Country: United Kingdom

Re: point cloud processing - black circle from scan location

Post by Formula1982 » Tue May 30, 2017 10:45 am

Have you got a strict distance cut off limit on your scans? Particularly at the top of the image you supplied, there is a lack of overlap between two scans which aren't very far apart, and I certainly would expect those scans to fill in the 'circles' of each others scans, and especially the visible gap between the scans.

jramirez
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2015 1:08 am
Full Name: Jessica Ramirez
Company Details: Irvine Company
Company Position Title: Field GIS Technician
Country: US
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: point cloud processing - black circle from scan location

Post by jramirez » Tue May 30, 2017 4:09 pm

Formula1982 wrote:
Tue May 30, 2017 10:45 am
Have you got a strict distance cut off limit on your scans? Particularly at the top of the image you supplied, there is a lack of overlap between two scans which aren't very far apart, and I certainly would expect those scans to fill in the 'circles' of each others scans, and especially the visible gap between the scans.
Thanks, I checked the distance filter and it's set at 656.17 ft.
Jessica Ramirez
Field GIS Technician
3D Reality Capture Specialist

Return to “Faro”