Trimble X7 to Recap Photo Quality

Discuss all Trimble related issues here.
Post Reply
boxel0
I have made 100> posts
I have made 100> posts
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 3:45 pm
Full Name: Lewis Boxer
Company Details: Advanced 3D Laser Solutions Ltd
Company Position Title: Technical Director
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Trimble X7 to Recap Photo Quality

Post by boxel0 »

Hi All,

I wonder if you can help, we have bought a Trimble X7, which we are super pleased as it fits most of our requirements,

The only issue I am currently having is the image / photo quality when it goes into Recap, for some reason the Trimble .TZF or .TDX file format only seems to be compatible with their own software, where as the FARO format .FLS was compatible with Recap / Cloud Compare etc. And to because it was the RAW format from the scanner it included the Hi-Res Photo(s) , but to get Trimble Data into Recap it goes in as .E57 file format which doesnt hold photos?

I wonder if anyone has had a workaround?

Lewis
Lewis Boxer
Advanced 3D Laser Solutions Ltd
Technical Director
e: [email protected]
w: www.lasersurveying.com
jaredmatthews
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 7:19 pm
Full Name: Jared
Company Details: Sova Surveys Limited
Company Position Title: Director
Country: UK
Skype Name: jaredmatthews
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Trimble X7 to Recap Photo Quality

Post by jaredmatthews »

There is an option to export straight to RCP from Realworks (instead of out to E57, then to Recap).

This does require a Pro version of recap as far as I understand.

This should hold all your colour info.
boxel0
I have made 100> posts
I have made 100> posts
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 3:45 pm
Full Name: Lewis Boxer
Company Details: Advanced 3D Laser Solutions Ltd
Company Position Title: Technical Director
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Re: Trimble X7 to Recap Photo Quality

Post by boxel0 »

Yh I have done that, but it only exports colourised point cloud not the actual photos it took
Lewis Boxer
Advanced 3D Laser Solutions Ltd
Technical Director
e: [email protected]
w: www.lasersurveying.com
VXGrid
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:47 am
Full Name: Martin Graner
Company Details: PointCab GmbH
Company Position Title: Research and Development
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 28 times
Contact:

Re: Trimble X7 to Recap Photo Quality

Post by VXGrid »

boxel0 wrote: Wed Jan 13, 2021 2:12 pm Yh I have done that, but it only exports colourised point cloud not the actual photos it took
"Photos" like photos?
The project you have in ReCap: Does it contain mirrorballs?
As far as I am aware, ReCap does not use any "photos" but only the point cloud, the difference is how the point cloud was saved.
Structured ( mirror balls are there-> 360 Panoramas can be checked), or unstructured (only a point cloud - no panoramas).

E57 for example can be saved as structured and unstructured.
If the E57 is saved as structured (or ordered), (and ReCap can read it as structured), then the mirrorballs are there.
tengui
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2015 3:15 pm
Full Name: NEDELEC Tanguy
Company Details: Prigent et Associes
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: No
Location: Dinan
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Trimble X7 to Recap Photo Quality

Post by tengui »

I think he means that his Recap project does contain mirrorballs with panoramic views, but they're low quality, because they were reconstructed from the points themselves and not taken directly from the panoramic images.

As in this topic: viewtopic.php?t=16475

I don't personnally have a solution because I only use Scene, but it seems a recurring issue.
Post Reply

Return to “Trimble”