New Trimble SX10

Discuss all Trimble related issues here.
User avatar
pedropcsena
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:08 pm
Full Name: Pedro S.
Company Details: I.B.W.
Company Position Title: LiDAR-3D Laser Scanning Specialist
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: New Trimble SX10

Post by pedropcsena » Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:48 pm

Formula1982 wrote:Having used the SX10 a couple of times now, I have to say it's very impressive.

I would have assumed at first this would be a compromised instrument. An overly expensive, compromised totalstation, and a heavily compromised laser scanner.

In reality, its one of the most useful and easy to use totalstations I've ever used. But the biggest surprise is the scanning. It's not competing with rapid phase scanners - a 360 degree scan takes around 12 minutes. But the range is double what we've been able to get from anything else, the options for control are really useful, you come away from site with a fully registered database, and most importantly the data quality is some of the best I've captured before. Very clean and accurate data even at long range.
Happy to hear that. We are thinking of getting one but still waiting for some feedback from users

ChrisHarris
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 3:17 pm
Full Name: Chris Harris
Company Details: KOREC
Company Position Title: Strategic Account Manager
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: New Trimble SX10

Post by ChrisHarris » Tue Mar 21, 2017 11:04 am

It's great to see the comments above...

The Trimble SX10 has had an excellent start with customers coming from all different areas of survey/engineering/construction etc.. Trimble literally cannot produce them quickly enough!

People really like the way you can incorporate normal topo detail or surveyed/setting out information with the scan data and the way the scan is adjusted with the traverse or resections etc live in the field. The site efficiency is excellent.

One of the main selling points though is the way any surveyor can take one and use it straight away to collect scan data even if they've never scanned before Then just drag the data into the office afterwards with no registration. This is why the SX10 is starting to bring point cloud to users that were reluctant to take the plunge beforehand. As an example, last week with a customer (a very experienced scanning surveyor) we did a 10 setup/15 scan job with lots of detailed imagery as well as topo linework in just a few hours, this dropped into the software in 5 minutes, all scans colourised, no registration needed as we came off survey control.

In the field the operation is so slick this instrument spoils you for using anything else - "more like playing a video gaming than surveying" - you'll never want to look through a telescope again (genuinely you won't)!

We don't have a case study from a user yet but should do soon with people now using the SX10 in the field. Several good customer quotes are floating around. "Twice the range, half the kit, twice as productive" - sums it up nicely.

In my opinion the SX10 is the first of a new breed of surveying instrument. For certain tasks it'll still be quicker to use a traditional terrestrial laser scanner (large office complex internal building surveys etc..) but for a large percentage of survey projects you no longer need two instruments, the SX10 is as complete an instrument as you can imagine. To say we've been impressed is an understatement but I think you've figured that out already!!

Dont take my word for it though, try one for yourself :)

User avatar
Formula1982
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 4:02 pm
Full Name: Stephen Ferrari
Company Details: UTEC StarNet Geomatics
Company Position Title: Technical Lead
Country: United Kingdom

Re: New Trimble SX10

Post by Formula1982 » Tue Mar 21, 2017 2:11 pm

pedropcsena wrote:
Formula1982 wrote:Having used the SX10 a couple of times now, I have to say it's very impressive.

I would have assumed at first this would be a compromised instrument. An overly expensive, compromised totalstation, and a heavily compromised laser scanner.

In reality, its one of the most useful and easy to use totalstations I've ever used. But the biggest surprise is the scanning. It's not competing with rapid phase scanners - a 360 degree scan takes around 12 minutes. But the range is double what we've been able to get from anything else, the options for control are really useful, you come away from site with a fully registered database, and most importantly the data quality is some of the best I've captured before. Very clean and accurate data even at long range.
Happy to hear that. We are thinking of getting one but still waiting for some feedback from users
If you're in need of a scanner for anything other than what you'd use a typical phase scanner for (ie where maximum speed of a 360 degree scan is the most important), then definitely look at the SX10.
Likewise, if you need a total station, but could benefit from occasional scanning capability on those same jobs, then again, look at the SX10 as an option. It makes a fantastic 1-person instrument. I'm very impressed with it from end-to-end.

clebron
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 7:25 pm
Full Name: Carlos Lebron
Company Details: JEBA
Company Position Title: Survey manager
Country: Puerto Rico
Skype Name: Clebron
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: New Trimble SX10

Post by clebron » Tue May 23, 2017 9:49 pm

I have performed several 3D Scans using the Trimble SX10. For some reason I'm not having good resolution beyond 50 meters under a standard scan. The range according to the specs are 600 meters. Any idea on how I could improve a better resolution?

ChrisHarris
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 3:17 pm
Full Name: Chris Harris
Company Details: KOREC
Company Position Title: Strategic Account Manager
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: New Trimble SX10

Post by ChrisHarris » Thu May 25, 2017 2:55 pm

Hi Carlos

The SX10 will give you 25mm spacing @ 50m distance on a 'standard' setting.

You could change to Fine - which would be 12.5mm or superfine - 6.25mm @ 50m.

Every situation is different but typically I use coarse setting for 360 degree scans/topographic overlay or any closer range stuff. Standard setting for elevations/structures and I only normally use fine or superfine for very distant work.

Don't forget you can also measure any data in the gaps off the photos if you want to!

Hope that helps

Chris

User avatar
Formula1982
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 4:02 pm
Full Name: Stephen Ferrari
Company Details: UTEC StarNet Geomatics
Company Position Title: Technical Lead
Country: United Kingdom

Re: New Trimble SX10

Post by Formula1982 » Tue Aug 15, 2017 3:02 pm

clebron wrote:
Tue May 23, 2017 9:49 pm
I have performed several 3D Scans using the Trimble SX10. For some reason I'm not having good resolution beyond 50 meters under a standard scan. The range according to the specs are 600 meters. Any idea on how I could improve a better resolution?
Carlos, did you have another go with the SX10?

The resolution is at a set distance, and on coarse setting this is 10mm spacing at 10m in 12 minutes. A phase scanner designed for 360 scans would typically be getting around 6mm spacing at 10m in 3.5 minutes- but that's not what the SX10 is designed for.
If you need higher resolution for objects which are at distance, window them and do a probe distance. The SX10 will tell you what the resolution will be on that object. Then change the resolution slider up to standard, fine or superfine, and you'll see the resolution you'll get on that object change on the screen.

Return to “Trimble”