Help by Georeferencing NaVVis Laser Scan Data

Discuss Leica Geosystems hardware here.
Post Reply
philipp_sy
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri May 08, 2020 7:34 pm
2
Full Name: philipp
Company Details: scanntec
Company Position Title: projekt engineur
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Help by Georeferencing NaVVis Laser Scan Data

Post by philipp_sy »

Hi Everyone,

I need help with georeferencing our NavVis data, we measured targets on site, and NavVis data is local.

is it possible to georeference the Data in cyclon, i mean to set vertex in the Pointcloud in Cyclone?

PS; the data was imported into cyclone as an unstuctured E57 cloud.
Expertise is greatly appreciated
User avatar
smacl
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 996
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:12 pm
11
Full Name: Shane MacLaughlin
Company Details: Atlas Computers Ltd
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Country: Ireland
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Ireland
Has thanked: 416 times
Been thanked: 425 times
Contact:

Re: Help by Georeferencing NaVVis Laser Scan Data

Post by smacl »

philipp_sy wrote: Tue Jul 05, 2022 6:23 am Hi Everyone,

I need help with georeferencing our NavVis data, we measured targets on site, and NavVis data is local.

is it possible to georeference the Data in cyclon, i mean to set vertex in the Pointcloud in Cyclone?

PS; the data was imported into cyclone as an unstuctured E57 cloud.
Expertise is greatly appreciated
Just guessing, but the stumbling block there is probably that the data is unstructured. To make control adjustments, other than a block shift and rotate, you would need structured data. My advise would be to reach out to the guys in NavVis, Georg Scroth often posts here and can probably put you in touch with the right person.
sim.herrod
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 302
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 12:26 pm
6
Full Name: Simeon Herrod
Company Details: Terra Measurement Limited
Company Position Title: 3D Data Manager
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 74 times

Re: Help by Georeferencing NaVVis Laser Scan Data

Post by sim.herrod »

philipp_sy wrote: Tue Jul 05, 2022 6:23 am Hi Everyone,

I need help with georeferencing our NavVis data, we measured targets on site, and NavVis data is local.

is it possible to georeference the Data in cyclon, i mean to set vertex in the Pointcloud in Cyclone?

PS; the data was imported into cyclone as an unstuctured E57 cloud.
Expertise is greatly appreciated
Philip, have you processed your data in Ivion?

We apply our target coordinates in Ivion, then any e57's we export are already correct.
User avatar
LeicaUK_RC
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 751
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 9:30 am
11
Full Name: Phil Marsh
Company Details: Leica Geosystems part of Hexagon
Company Position Title: UK Sales Manager - Reality Capture
Country: UK
Skype Name: Phil.H.Marsh
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Barnsley, UK
Been thanked: 46 times
Contact:

Re: Help by Georeferencing NaVVis Laser Scan Data

Post by LeicaUK_RC »

philipp_sy wrote: Tue Jul 05, 2022 6:23 am Hi Everyone,

I need help with georeferencing our NavVis data, we measured targets on site, and NavVis data is local.

is it possible to georeference the Data in cyclon, i mean to set vertex in the Pointcloud in Cyclone?

PS; the data was imported into cyclone as an unstuctured E57 cloud.
Expertise is greatly appreciated
You can do this easily in Cyclone Core with some vertex even if the data is unstructured.

Let me know if you need a hand?
Leica Geosystems
M: 07540 201383
E: [email protected]
W: www.leica-geosystems.com
frieBIM
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 10:31 am
2
Full Name: Frieder Kirn
Company Details: NavVis
Company Position Title: Solution Manager
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Help by Georeferencing NaVVis Laser Scan Data

Post by frieBIM »

Agree with @sim.herrod

If NavVis Data was processed, aligned & georeferenced correctly the e57 should appear at the correct location in any other 3rd party software

Further info see
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t5DKYl3KM5U

youtu.be/t5DKYl3KM5U

Hope that helps
Veit
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 10:13 pm
2
Full Name: Veit Streicher
Company Details: Navvis
Company Position Title: Technical Account Manager
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Help by Georeferencing NaVVis Laser Scan Data

Post by Veit »

philipp_sy wrote: Tue Jul 05, 2022 6:23 am Hi Everyone,

I need help with georeferencing our NavVis data, we measured targets on site, and NavVis data is local.

is it possible to georeference the Data in cyclon, i mean to set vertex in the Pointcloud in Cyclone?

PS; the data was imported into cyclone as an unstuctured E57 cloud.
Expertise is greatly appreciated
Hi Philipp,
as mentioned above you just need to add the reference coordinates in a txt file to the post-processing task to get registered pointclouds. Thats it.
If you need help, please let us know. PM is fine too.

BR
Veit
Post Reply

Return to “Leica Geosystems”