PointCloud to CAD

Please post any tips or advice you have in general relating to laser scanning either whilst onsite or office based.
tbeauchemin
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Full Name: Thierry Beauchemin
Company Details: SNC-Lavalin GTS
Company Position Title: Graphic
Linkedin Profile: No

PointCloud to CAD

Post by tbeauchemin »

Hi Community :D
I’m a graphic designer working in “Serious Gaming” for an engineering company. We provide “Virtual Plant” to our client so they can train their “Field Operator” and learn to do Emergency ShutDown, Health&Safety Procedure, stuff like that.

Recently, we have been talking with a client that has several plants (Think big Petroleum refinery, stuff like that) but no CAD files due to the age of those.

Simply said we need a way to digitize those plants and output CAD files. After that, those CAD file get completely rework in 3D so that it better represent reality.

Now our needs are a bit special, since we don’t actually need the accuracy engineers normally need.

So I end up on this forum, and was amazed discovered many Point Cloud to CAD solution. Clearedge, LFM, Trimble, etc…

So I need a bit of help to sort thing out…
- Considering that accuracy would be the least of our requirement, what machine would you buy ?
- And what software would you use ?
- Is there other technology that we could investigate? (Photogrammetry didn’t produce good results)

Thank you for any help you can provide ☺

PS. Since I’ve made it clear that we are NO expert in that field…. We would also be interested into a “turnkey solution”…
Matt Young
Honorary Member
Honorary Member
Full Name: Matt Young
Company Details: Baker Hicks
Company Position Title: CAD-BIM Lead

Re: PointCloud to CAD

Post by Matt Young »

Hi Thierry, welcome to the Forum :D

I think that you will find a multitude of information here that will help you with what your trying to achieve.