Revit questions in regard to point cloud

AutoCad, MicroStation, ZWCAD, ARES, GstarCAD, 4M, IntelliCAD Etc.
Post Reply
Ioannis
I have made 50-60 posts
I have made 50-60 posts
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 6:19 am
Full Name: Ioannis Papas
Company Details: techical office
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: Greece
Skype Name: -
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Revit questions in regard to point cloud

Post by Ioannis » Thu Jan 04, 2018 3:59 pm

I am new user so if any question seems silly please do not laugh.
I use Revit 2017 version.
1. When i insert a point cloud is ther any options to clean it and remove some unecessary items ?
2. When i want to draw an element (e.t.c wall) is it possible Revit to best fit it from cloud points or do it manually ?
3. Where is the section line command ?
4. Any blogs or on-line learning courses it will be highly apreciated as we have not much free time to learn it.

lomelin14
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 5:38 pm
Full Name: Patricio Lomelín Rodríguez
Company Details: Pozas Arquitectos
Company Position Title: Project Manager
Country: Mexico
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Revit questions in regard to point cloud

Post by lomelin14 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 5:55 pm

Hi Ioannis,

In respond to your questions,

1. Autodesk Recap is one option for cleaning and prepare a point cloud before you open it in Revit.
2. There is an extension called pointsense for revit, its very expensive but it really worth it. In a few words you can model a point cloud in automatic. Also check some videos in youtube.
3. You can find it in the architecture label.
4. This is the best blog to learn anything about Bim and point clouds. Check in home page.

I hope this helps you.

pd. sorry for my English

neeravbm
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 3:29 pm
Full Name: Neerav Mehta
Company Details: Indoor Intelligence
Company Position Title: CTO
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Revit questions in regard to point cloud

Post by neeravbm » Thu Jan 04, 2018 6:28 pm

1. You will need to do cleanup in Recap and then insert the cleaned point cloud in Revit.
2. From what I know, you need to manually trace over the point cloud to create walls. There are other tools such as ClearEdge3D, PointCab, Leica CloudWorx for Revit that do best fit to create walls.
3. I am not sure about Section line command.
4. I found a few videos on youtube but on-line learning courses are far and few in between.
Neerav Mehta
CTO, Indoor Intelligence
Creators of http://scantobim.xyz and http://rep3d.com

xyzsystems
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 4:24 am
Full Name: XYZ Systems
Company Details: XYZ Systems
Company Position Title: President
Country: Canada

Re: Revit questions in regard to point cloud

Post by xyzsystems » Thu Jan 04, 2018 8:27 pm

section line command is under view or architecture tab

Ioannis
I have made 50-60 posts
I have made 50-60 posts
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 6:19 am
Full Name: Ioannis Papas
Company Details: techical office
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: Greece
Skype Name: -
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Revit questions in regard to point cloud

Post by Ioannis » Sat Jan 06, 2018 2:36 pm

still can not find the section line or plane command ...
something similar to this
https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/ ... lan-0.html

Scott
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:39 pm
Full Name: Scott Page
Company Details: Scott Page Design- Architectural service
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Revit questions in regard to point cloud

Post by Scott » Sat Jan 06, 2018 4:38 pm

Ioannis wrote:
Sat Jan 06, 2018 2:36 pm
still can not find the section line or plane command ...
something similar to this
https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/ ... lan-0.html
Try this tutorial for placing 'elevation markers' in Revit:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M11w2ggmYXM
Good luck!

Ioannis
I have made 50-60 posts
I have made 50-60 posts
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 6:19 am
Full Name: Ioannis Papas
Company Details: techical office
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: Greece
Skype Name: -
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Revit questions in regard to point cloud

Post by Ioannis » Sun Jan 07, 2018 5:45 pm

Scott I ask something different..

User avatar
gabrio
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 6:32 pm
Full Name: Gabrio Rossi
Company Details: Scan2BIM - R+TB Architetti Associati
Company Position Title: co-founder partner
Country: Italy
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Bergamo - Italy
Contact:

Re: Revit questions in regard to point cloud

Post by gabrio » Mon Jan 08, 2018 7:13 am

Hi Ioannis
3. no, Revit can’t generate a 2d vector section from the point cloud as you have seen in the autocad tutorial.the word “section” in the revit’s world means a point of view of the 3d model, not a 2d geometry itself. except for some specific tools ( detail line) nothing in revit is 2d.

my last 2 cents: don’t forget that Revit is a software BIM oriented, so its aim concerned about relationship between objects and it’s not the most power software to model the objects.

ciao



Inviato dal mio iPad utilizzando Tapatalk
arch. Gabrio Rossi, MRICS
g.rossi@scan2bim.it
www.scan2bim.it

Passaggio dei Canonici Lateranensi n. 4
24121 Bergamo - Italy

+39.035.22.27.76

Post Reply

Return to “CAD Software”