Deliver point cloud for archicad for mac

AutoCad, MicroStation, ZWCAD, ARES, GstarCAD, 4M, IntelliCAD Etc.
Post Reply
Wannascan
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 3:07 am
Full Name: William Hart Rabbino
Company Details: Kestrel Construction
Company Position Title: Co-Owner
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No
Location: Asheville, NC

Deliver point cloud for archicad for mac

Post by Wannascan » Sat Feb 25, 2017 3:45 pm

I have to deliver a point cloud to a client that is using Archicad 20. They have old low end macs. I have Faro scene and have exported to ReCap and then saved in E57 format. My asssociate delivered the thumb drive to their office and said they were unable to open it. Any suggestions? The file size was about 2G.

User avatar
Jason Warren
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2644
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:21 am
Full Name: Jason Warren
Company Details: Laser Scanning Forum Ltd
Company Position Title: Co-Founder
Country: UK
Skype Name: jason_warren
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Retford, UK
Contact:

Re: Deliver point cloud for archicad for mac

Post by Jason Warren » Sat Feb 25, 2017 4:08 pm

Any error msg?
Jason Warren

#ThePowerofLSF

Wannascan
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 3:07 am
Full Name: William Hart Rabbino
Company Details: Kestrel Construction
Company Position Title: Co-Owner
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No
Location: Asheville, NC

Re: Deliver point cloud for archicad for mac

Post by Wannascan » Sat Feb 25, 2017 5:29 pm

As it was explained to me, it started loading got to 99% and then the program froze.

User avatar
Jason Warren
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2644
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:21 am
Full Name: Jason Warren
Company Details: Laser Scanning Forum Ltd
Company Position Title: Co-Founder
Country: UK
Skype Name: jason_warren
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Retford, UK
Contact:

Re: Deliver point cloud for archicad for mac

Post by Jason Warren » Sat Feb 25, 2017 5:37 pm

Wannascan wrote:As it was explained to me, it started loading got to 99% and then the program froze.
Ok, do they have CloudCompare installed on their Mac`s? can you see if they can load the e57 into CloudCompare?
Download Here:
https://asmaloney.com/software/
Jason Warren

#ThePowerofLSF

Wannascan
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 3:07 am
Full Name: William Hart Rabbino
Company Details: Kestrel Construction
Company Position Title: Co-Owner
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No
Location: Asheville, NC

Re: Deliver point cloud for archicad for mac

Post by Wannascan » Sat Feb 25, 2017 8:12 pm

I can ask them. I have cloud compare on my windows computer that I could test the file myself first. Do you have archicad experience? I have read some negative things about using point clouds on their own forum. I called their customer support and they said the only file types that they support are xyz and E57

User avatar
nickherath
I have made 50-60 posts
I have made 50-60 posts
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 6:22 am
Full Name: Nick Herath
Company Details: Lester Franks
Company Position Title: Director
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Deliver point cloud for archicad for mac

Post by nickherath » Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:50 pm

Why don't you send them a very small sample file first? If they can open that then you have at least isolated whether it is a file format or file size problem.
If it is in fact a file size problem then they need to face the reality of the situation and use appropriately specced computers for working with large point cloud datasets.

Wannascan
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 3:07 am
Full Name: William Hart Rabbino
Company Details: Kestrel Construction
Company Position Title: Co-Owner
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No
Location: Asheville, NC

Re: Deliver point cloud for archicad for mac

Post by Wannascan » Sun Feb 26, 2017 12:38 am

The file was only 1.2-1.3 gigs is that too big?

Scott
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 461
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:39 pm
Full Name: Scott Page
Company Details: Scott Page Design- Architectural service
Company Position Title: Freelance
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Deliver point cloud for archicad for mac

Post by Scott » Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:06 am

Wannascan wrote:The file was only 1.2-1.3 gigs is that too big?
4gb is the limit. Archicad won't bring in intensity (reflectivity) values -RGB is what it wants. Otherwise the scans are black, from what I've heard.

User avatar
blazaj
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 406
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 2:07 pm
Full Name: Jiri Blazek
Company Details: Blazek Win Precision Systems
Company Position Title: 3D documentation
Country: Czech
Skype Name: blazaj
Linkedin Profile: No
Location: 50.2379311N, 12.8408917E
Contact:

Re: Deliver point cloud for archicad for mac

Post by blazaj » Sun Feb 26, 2017 9:39 am

I export E57 directly from Scene, filter in CloudCompare and have no problems opening it in AC20.

Post Reply

Return to “CAD Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests