HDS 6100 remote reboot

Faro S150, S350, X30, X130, X130HDR, X330, X330HDR, M70, Leica HDS4500, HDS6*00, HDS7000, Z+F IMAGER 5016, 5010X, 5010C, 5006H, 5006EX & PROFILER 9012 etc
Horst
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:44 pm
Full Name: Horst Friedsam
Company Details: Fermi National Laboratory
Company Position Title: Group Leader
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

HDS 6100 remote reboot

Post by Horst » Tue Feb 22, 2011 4:35 pm

To the Laser Scanner Community,
I intent to use an HDS 6100 mounted inverted to the ceiling of an assembly hall. Power will be supplied as well as an Ethernet cable to tie to the operating laptop. However, there will be the occassional need to reboot the system if it encounters a failure and the HDS goes in an unstable state. At that time I have currently no other option but to get directly to the instrument and reset it with the on/off button. Does anybody out there in the scanner world know of a tool or software fix that allows me to reboot the system remotely?

Thanx,

Horst

User avatar
RicardoG
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 9:36 pm
Full Name: Ricardo Garcia Guerrero
Company Details: Grupo Diarqco
Company Position Title: Project Manager
Country: Mexico
Skype Name: richard.gague
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: HDS 6100 remote reboot

Post by RicardoG » Tue Feb 22, 2011 8:03 pm

I´m not to sure if you can turn it off remotely. But in that case it would be better instead of using the ethernet cable, use your WIFI. In that case you will be operating and supervising all the time each scan you perform. In cases that appears an error on your screen you will be able to fix it remotely with your computer, also download your information. It is as equal as you were operating your scanner manually but wireless.

Horst
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:44 pm
Full Name: Horst Friedsam
Company Details: Fermi National Laboratory
Company Position Title: Group Leader
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: HDS 6100 remote reboot

Post by Horst » Tue Feb 22, 2011 10:48 pm

Hi Ricardo,
Thank you for your input. However, I do not see a difference if I operate the instrument wireless or through the ethernet cable between the HDS6100 and computer ports. The problems I have seen in testing are actually more related to wireless operation where we loose connection between the laptop and HDS. The HDS goes in an unknow state and the only way to remediate that is by a hard re-boot of the HDS. By the way once the instrument is mounted it will be powered constantly. So the remote re-boot if possible should be done by software as the instrument is hard to reach. The only other way that I can think of to accomplishing this is to mount a plunger that I can remote operate to push the button.

Horst

User avatar
stevenramsey
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1559
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:22 pm
Full Name: Steven Ramsey
Company Details: Leica Geosystems
Company Position Title: Technical Specialist Scanning EMEA
Country: UK
Skype Name: steven.ramsey
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London

Re: HDS 6100 remote reboot

Post by stevenramsey » Wed Feb 23, 2011 12:57 am

I can't remember what happens when you cycle the power if plugged in to the mains.
Steven Ramsey

Home steven.ramsey@laserscanningforum.com
Work steven.ramsey@leica-geosystems.com
Mobile +44 7766 310 915

3DLS@WKC
I have made 80-90 posts
I have made 80-90 posts
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 11:52 am
Full Name: Geoff Warren
Company Details: WKC Spatial
Company Position Title: Laser Scanning Manager
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Perth Western Australia

Re: HDS 6100 remote reboot

Post by 3DLS@WKC » Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:20 am

It would be good if you could power down via ethernet or wireless as I wouldn't have to sit here and wait for the scans to download, I could remote login from home and shut it down when the download is complete. Does anyone know if it is a bad thing to leave a HDS6100 running for extended periods of time?

Horst
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:44 pm
Full Name: Horst Friedsam
Company Details: Fermi National Laboratory
Company Position Title: Group Leader
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: HDS 6100 remote reboot

Post by Horst » Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:40 pm

Hi Steven and Geoff,
According to LEICA having the instrument powered for extended periods of time should not pose a problem. It may be even better as all electronic components come to a temperature equilibrium. I guess we will find out. The remote reboot poses the bigger problem as one has to physically push the on/off button on the instrument. We want to do that only once at the beginning of the operation. After that one should be able to send a reset command to the instrument if necessary to force the system back in a controllable state.

Horst

Alrawli
I have made 50-60 posts
I have made 50-60 posts
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 10:58 am
Full Name: Al Rawlinson
Company Details: Digital Design Studio CDDV
Company Position Title: Head of Data Acquisition
Country: Scotland
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: HDS 6100 remote reboot

Post by Alrawli » Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:55 pm

What about a remotely activated servo which pushes the button? If you cant do it onboard with the scanner make something that does it for you. :D

User avatar
joe.3dlm
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:48 am
Full Name: Joe Beeching
Company Details: 3D Laser Mapping Ltd.
Company Position Title: Product Specialist - laser scanning
Country: UK
Skype Name: joe.3dlm
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: HDS 6100 remote reboot

Post by joe.3dlm » Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:41 pm

Horst,

We have successfully using an Ethernet DIN Relay switch in our open-pit mine monitoring systems.

http://www.digital-loggers.com/din.html

In principle, the unit can receive a command over Ethernet, which can tell it to turn off the power to a device attached to one of the 8 power connections. The power supply can then be restored with another command.

It's a simple job (so I'm told!) to write a small piece of software to connect to the device; alternatively, you can log in to the built-in web server and switch devices off from there.

Hope this helps,
Joe
Product Specialist
3D Laser Mapping Ltd.
Geospatial Business Intelligence
http://www.3dlasermapping.com
RIEGL Premier Distributor for UK, Ireland & Africa

Horst
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:44 pm
Full Name: Horst Friedsam
Company Details: Fermi National Laboratory
Company Position Title: Group Leader
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: HDS 6100 remote reboot

Post by Horst » Fri Feb 25, 2011 11:43 pm

Hi Joe,
Thank you for the info. However, I do not think this work here as one has to actually push the on button even after the power has been restored to the instrument, unless one could circumvent the button and hotwire the device. I do not know if LEICA has a software solution for this problem.

Horst

Return to “Phase Based Scanners”