SLAM cloud filtering

Discuss CloudCompare software here.
Post Reply
max72
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 846
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:32 pm
11
Full Name: Massimo De Marchi
Company Details: Massimo De Marchi
Company Position Title: freelancer
Country: Italy
Skype Name: massimo_de_marchi
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

SLAM cloud filtering

Post by max72 »

I started working with a SLAM scanner (Geoslam Horizon).
I'm trying to find a sequence of commands (to be automated via command line) to filter the cloud.
From the help it looks like multiple passes of noise filter would do the job.
I started testing some sequences, to find a sweet spot (not loosing to much, saving the corner, reasonably cleaning the cloud..) but I have not found the right sequence yet.
I'm wondering if there are commands/sequences already consolidated to do that, or if there are suggestions to do the cleaning.

Thanks in advance,
Massimo
ing. Massimo De Marchi - +39 347 32 17 049 - www.studiodemarchi.net
badam
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 916
Joined: Tue May 11, 2021 5:36 pm
2
Full Name: Adam Berta
Company Details: InnoScan 3D Hungary Kft
Company Position Title: unknown
Country: Hungary
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 297 times
Contact:

Re: SLAM cloud filtering

Post by badam »

unfortinatelly "noise clean" feature is not accessible from command line. You only have the option to do a SOR (statistical outlier) and then a gridded subsample. It will make your cloud more consistent.I suppose leica do similar things with blk2go (and they call it "magic").

maybe you could find something in pdal, which has far better command line options (it is only command line and there aree lot of filter classifications, etc.)
nickh
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2020 9:52 am
3
Full Name: Nick Harrop
Company Details: Maptek
Company Position Title: Mine Measurement Specialist
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: SLAM cloud filtering

Post by nickh »

Hi Massimo,
If you are a GeoSLAM customer you should ask your local dealer about GeoSLAM Connect platform, which has filtering tools built-in for automated processing of Horizon data. As mentioned, pdal also has many useful tools that can help and can be run as a command line based sequence.
max72
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 846
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:32 pm
11
Full Name: Massimo De Marchi
Company Details: Massimo De Marchi
Company Position Title: freelancer
Country: Italy
Skype Name: massimo_de_marchi
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

Re: SLAM cloud filt

Post by max72 »

Thanks,
I’ll check pdal and connect.
I love my horizon, and while nothing really changes between a filtered and unfiltered cloud (you select the center anyway) it might be an aesthetic touch worth the effort.
Cheers,
Massimo
ing. Massimo De Marchi - +39 347 32 17 049 - www.studiodemarchi.net
User avatar
smacl
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1409
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:12 pm
13
Full Name: Shane MacLaughlin
Company Details: Atlas Computers Ltd
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Country: Ireland
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Ireland
Has thanked: 627 times
Been thanked: 657 times
Contact:

Re: SLAM cloud filtering

Post by smacl »

nickh wrote: Mon Aug 09, 2021 8:48 pm Hi Massimo,
If you are a GeoSLAM customer you should ask your local dealer about GeoSLAM Connect platform, which has filtering tools built-in for automated processing of Horizon data. As mentioned, pdal also has many useful tools that can help and can be run as a command line based sequence.
Hi Nick,

I was looking to add some additional noise filters for Horizon and Revo into SCC and was wondering is there a way of getting a trajectory file that can link back to the point cloud, e.g. the LAS file, such that range can be established for each point. The reason that I ask is that there are a number of ways of identifying a point as noise in a point cloud. Usual methods are based on proximity to other points, but range can also be a very useful metric for identifying potential outliers. We can do this with the likes of Pegasus through interpolating scanner position based on the timeline in the trajectory against that in the point cloud. Would be very useful to also have this in GeoSLAM data,

thanks,

Shane
Shane MacLaughlin
Atlas Computers Ltd
www.atlascomputers.ie

SCC Point Cloud module
nickh
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2020 9:52 am
3
Full Name: Nick Harrop
Company Details: Maptek
Company Position Title: Mine Measurement Specialist
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: SLAM cloud filtering

Post by nickh »

Hi Shane,
I’d agree that having scanner positions available as a trajectory is definitely something that is extremely useful for number of cleaning functions. There has been the option in Hub for the user to export a txt file containing the time, x,y,z and scanner orientation for many years. This trajectory file is a standard output for users processing in the Connect platform as it’s used by some of our own data cleaning tools.

Cheers,
nick
User avatar
smacl
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1409
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:12 pm
13
Full Name: Shane MacLaughlin
Company Details: Atlas Computers Ltd
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Country: Ireland
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Ireland
Has thanked: 627 times
Been thanked: 657 times
Contact:

Re: SLAM cloud filtering

Post by smacl »

nickh wrote: Tue Aug 17, 2021 5:15 pm Hi Shane,
I’d agree that having scanner positions available as a trajectory is definitely something that is extremely useful for number of cleaning functions. There has been the option in Hub for the user to export a txt file containing the time, x,y,z and scanner orientation for many years. This trajectory file is a standard output for users processing in the Connect platform as it’s used by some of our own data cleaning tools.

Cheers,
nick
Good to know Nick. Do you have a sample dataset including LAS and trajectory files that I could have to play with? We have a number of GeoSLAM users who are always interested in improving their workflows in this regard.
Shane MacLaughlin
Atlas Computers Ltd
www.atlascomputers.ie

SCC Point Cloud module
max72
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 846
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:32 pm
11
Full Name: Massimo De Marchi
Company Details: Massimo De Marchi
Company Position Title: freelancer
Country: Italy
Skype Name: massimo_de_marchi
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

Re: SLAM cloud filtering

Post by max72 »

The new alpha has -Noise as an option..
At the moment the sweet spot with my Horizon looks like a two passes noise filter.
My drag and drop command file at the moment looks like that:

Code: Select all

for %%f in (%*) DO "<yourpath>\cloudcompare.exe" -SILENT -AUTO_SAVE OFF -O %%f -C_EXPORT_FMT LAS -NOISE RADIUS 0.05 REL 0.5 RIP -AUTO_SAVE ON -NOISE RADIUS 0.05 REL 0.5 RIP 
PAUSE
It's still a little bit too aggressive on the corners, and needs some honing, but not so bad..
Massimo
ing. Massimo De Marchi - +39 347 32 17 049 - www.studiodemarchi.net
Post Reply

Return to “CloudCompare”