Leica to RealWorks

Discuss all Trimble Realworks related issues here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Danie83
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 2:24 pm
Full Name: Danie Roelvert
Company Details: Trail Surveys
Company Position Title: Senior Surveyor
Country: South Africa

Leica to RealWorks

Post by Danie83 » Tue Aug 01, 2017 7:22 am

Hi,

I could not find any related post's here, so I hope this is the first post.
Does anyone know if it is possible to import raw leica scans into RW?
We used a P40 and I would like to process it with RW..

TMillington
I have made 50-60 posts
I have made 50-60 posts
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:59 am
Full Name: Tony Millington
Company Details: ISIS Rutherford Appleton Laboratory
Company Position Title: Survey section leader
Country: uk
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Leica to RealWorks

Post by TMillington » Tue Aug 01, 2017 2:06 pm

RealWorks doesn't appear to offer any direct import for Leica Data formats.
It's a while since I used a Leica Scanner, but (from memory) I think .ptx is a data format available from Leica scanners, ? via Cyclone, that can be imported to RealWorks.
Obviously RW accepts the standard, generic, scan formats (e57, .las etc) but my guess is that you will need to take the raw data through Cyclone first.

:idea:
Have just looked at ReCap - it appears that raw Leica .proj files can be imported, you might then be able to export .e57 for import to RealWorks.

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1703
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK

Re: Leica to RealWorks

Post by pburrows145 » Wed Aug 02, 2017 2:11 pm

TMillington wrote:
Tue Aug 01, 2017 2:06 pm
RealWorks doesn't appear to offer any direct import for Leica Data formats.
It's a while since I used a Leica Scanner, but (from memory) I think .ptx is a data format available from Leica scanners, ? via Cyclone, that can be imported to RealWorks.
Obviously RW accepts the standard, generic, scan formats (e57, .las etc) but my guess is that you will need to take the raw data through Cyclone first.

:idea:
Have just looked at ReCap - it appears that raw Leica .proj files can be imported, you might then be able to export .e57 for import to RealWorks.
Not all Pxx data can be read into Recap - this is only for P16's projects.

Question is (going to the original post), why do you want to register P40 data in Realworks and not Cyclone? Have you seen REGISTER 360?

Keen to hear your feedback.

User avatar
Danie83
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 2:24 pm
Full Name: Danie Roelvert
Company Details: Trail Surveys
Company Position Title: Senior Surveyor
Country: South Africa

Re: Leica to RealWorks

Post by Danie83 » Mon Aug 14, 2017 5:31 am

Hi Paul,

No I have not seen Register 360, but I am sure our Leica rep will introduce me to it in the near future.
We have been using RealWorks for quite some time now and are familiar and comfortable with it. We just had a demo the other day from Leica with the P40 and hence my question.
The price tag of Cyclone is quite steep for our company and it does not make financially sense to buy another processing suite just yet.

From what I understand now is that with the Cyclone viewer I can open the field data of the P40 and immediately export it as E57 for RealWorks.
This will be our method for now..

Cheers!

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1703
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK

Re: Leica to RealWorks

Post by pburrows145 » Mon Aug 14, 2017 10:46 am

You will need some form of license to enable an E57 export from Cyclone: the viewer will not allow this.

MartinDP
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 1:49 pm
Full Name: Martin Machala
Company Details: Data Procon
Company Position Title: Analyst
Country: Czech Republic
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Leica to RealWorks

Post by MartinDP » Fri Feb 08, 2019 11:33 am

Hi Danie,
can I ask how did you solve that workflow problem? Did you manage to import the raw Leica scans into the Trimble Realworks without using any licensed third-party software for the data conversion?

Thanks a lot for any info! ;)

Geo Scan Surveying
I have made 30-40 posts
I have made 30-40 posts
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 1:43 pm
Full Name: Sam Lynas
Company Details: Geo Scan Surveying Solutions
Company Position Title: Director
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Leica to RealWorks

Post by Geo Scan Surveying » Tue Apr 09, 2019 2:49 pm

Bump

User avatar
SCCS RTC
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 634
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 9:30 am
Full Name: Phil Marsh
Company Details: SCCS Survey Equipment Limited
Company Position Title: Reality Capture Manager
Country: UK
Skype Name: Phil.H.Marsh
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Barnsley, UK
Contact:

Re: Leica to RealWorks

Post by SCCS RTC » Wed Apr 10, 2019 8:17 am

This isn't possible as the data will need to be processed in either Cyclone CORE or REGISTER 360 with a license capable of import. Cyclone BASIC is the cheapest option capable of doing this on either an annual subscription or TimeLimited basis...

import.PNG

You can then export to whatever format you like with the same license...

exports.PNG

I hope this helps?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
SCCS Survey Equipment Limited
M: 07540 201383
E: phil.marsh@sccssurvey.co.uk
W: www.sccsurvey.co.uk
Image

User avatar
Danie83
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 2:24 pm
Full Name: Danie Roelvert
Company Details: Trail Surveys
Company Position Title: Senior Surveyor
Country: South Africa

Re: Leica to RealWorks

Post by Danie83 » Sat Apr 27, 2019 6:31 am

Apologies for the late response.
Our solution in the end was for the Leica Rep to install Cyclone (not sure if it was Basic) on my laptop and assist me with a temporary license.
We then exported E57 separate setup files to be used in RW.

Thank you Paul & Phil for the information! :like:

Post Reply

Return to “Trimble Realworks”