Surface / Ground Model

3DReshaper, FROST, MeshLab, VRMesh, ZBrush & 3DCoat, CloudCompare, Etc
Post Reply
boxel0
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 3:45 pm
Full Name: Lewis Boxer
Company Details: Advanced 3D Laser Solutions Ltd
Company Position Title: Technical Director
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Surface / Ground Model

Post by boxel0 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 2:26 pm

Hi Guys,

Im need to surface / ground model created from point cloud data, whats the best software to use?

Im not looking for anything over detailed, i would like it to be quite light and I would like to be able to use it within AutoCAD and would be really nice if it transferred the RGB values across from the point cloud

I have tried using:
civil 3D
Cloud Compare
Lewis Boxer
Advanced 3D Laser Solutions Ltd
Technical Director
e: lewis@lasersurveying.com
w: www.lasersurveying.com

User avatar
gilles_3Dreshaper
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:41 am
Full Name: Gilles Monnier
Company Details: Technodigit
Company Position Title: 3DReshaper Manager
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Surface / Ground Model

Post by gilles_3Dreshaper » Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:52 pm

Hi Lewis,

do not hesitate to have a look at 3DReshaper.
We have a tool dedicated for this purpose.

See some examples here:
https://youtu.be/WuINn3q-uls
and here:
https://youtu.be/HgR0SdcbVzI
Gilles
3DReshaper Manager
http://www.3dreshaper.com

boxel0
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 3:45 pm
Full Name: Lewis Boxer
Company Details: Advanced 3D Laser Solutions Ltd
Company Position Title: Technical Director
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Re: Surface / Ground Model

Post by boxel0 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:05 pm

Can this data be imported into AutoCAD? What format?
Lewis Boxer
Advanced 3D Laser Solutions Ltd
Technical Director
e: lewis@lasersurveying.com
w: www.lasersurveying.com

User avatar
gilles_3Dreshaper
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:41 am
Full Name: Gilles Monnier
Company Details: Technodigit
Company Position Title: 3DReshaper Manager
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Surface / Ground Model

Post by gilles_3Dreshaper » Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:25 pm

Hi Lewis,

in order to get the result in AutoCAD, we also have a tool!
See a video here:
https://youtu.be/6UdsF3ETfMk
at 8'
Gilles
3DReshaper Manager
http://www.3dreshaper.com

User avatar
James Hall
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 5:13 pm
Full Name: James E Hall
Company Details: Precision Measurements Inc
Company Position Title: Survey Technician - Cyclone Modeler
Country: USA
Location: Chantilly, VA

Re: Surface / Ground Model

Post by James Hall » Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:32 pm

Point cloud data can be imported directly into C3D.

Go to your Prospector tab and right click on Point Clouds. This opens up the Create Point Cloud dialog box.

The available formats are .LAS, .PTS, .PTX and other assorted file types.
James,
C3D cloud import.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

chenlinhai
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 3:25 am
Full Name: chenlinhai
Company Details: GreenValley International
Company Position Title: Technical Support
Country: China

Re: Surface / Ground Model

Post by chenlinhai » Wed Mar 14, 2018 9:45 am

Hi Lewis,

You can try LiDAR360, the 30-day trial version downlink is: http://www.greenvalleyintl.com/software ... -downloads

The Terrain module provides a suite of GIS tools for calculating calculating slope, roughness, aspect & contours from surface models. Additionally, it contains tools for repairing surface models, i.e., spikes, holes and extraneous values.

The youtube tutorial link of LiDAR360 Terrain module:

youtu.be/y9l_hSRj5mc

Linhai Chen

User avatar
MarkL
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:57 am
Full Name: Mark Lupton
Company Details: SEA
Company Position Title: LASER Scanning
Country: USA
Skype Name: markl9999@yahoo.com
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Surface / Ground Model

Post by MarkL » Wed Mar 14, 2018 1:42 pm

If you use Recap and then open in Civ3D you can make a surface right there. You have He option of using a defined point spacing to reduce the number of triangles. With some editing I’ve found it works quite well. Then you have the advantage of having all the surfacing tools, profiles, sections etc.

Rikore
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 283
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 6:48 pm
Full Name: Bruce Yager
Company Details: Rikore Geomatics
Company Position Title: Department Head
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Surface / Ground Model

Post by Rikore » Wed Mar 14, 2018 1:43 pm

Lewis,
I would give 3DReshaper a try. I've seen it do some amazing things with ground modeling.

Post Reply

Return to “Meshing Software”