Export of Leica Cyclone point cloud to separate ReCap files.

Discuss all Autodesk ReCap Studio related issues here.
Post Reply
nlefebvre
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2021 9:07 pm
Full Name: Nathan
Company Details: Engineering Consulting
Company Position Title: Mechanical Designer
Country: Canada

Export of Leica Cyclone point cloud to separate ReCap files.

Post by nlefebvre »

I have received a request from a client to segment an existing point cloud dataset and export the data to ReCap. The client requires that all the ReCap files be under 10 GB, and the point cloud I am working with is just over 600 GB. Does anyone have any suggested workflows to accomplish this?

Currently, I am copying the individual areas to separate modelspaces in Cyclone, exporting them as e57 files, and then importing those to ReCap. I may be missing something, but I am having a difficult time determining the file size of a particular area prior to creation of the ReCap file. Sometimes ReCap reduces the size of the e57 file by 4-5x, while other times it reduces the size by only 1.5-2x. Basically I am just guessing as to whether the final file size will be under 10 GB, as I cannot seem to find a way to determine how large the final file will be.

Any help or suggestions will be appreciate.
User avatar
NOVAMECH
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 5:43 am
Full Name: Nick Bush
Company Details: NOVAMECH
Company Position Title: Director
Country: New Zealand
Skype Name: novamech5
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Export of Leica Cyclone point cloud to separate ReCap files.

Post by NOVAMECH »

1. Determine your end file size per Scan Position
2. Select the Number of Scan Positions withing that divide into this end 10Gb when imported into ReCap
3. Have a pad beside you with a List and Check / Tick Box -
4. Work Your way through the many many scans you seem to have.

Or

Somwtimes I use the .ptx splitter excel app that has been posted up here a few year ago.

1. Export the entire workspace
2. Split the file up into the individual scans .ptx splitter excel app (maybe you can find a app that will split & write e57)
3. Work out how many scans can fit within your 10Gb Recap file (leave a buffer so you don't go over the 10Gb limit - Aim for 9Gb per .rcp file.
4. Work yourway through the long list of scan files - Cut and Paste this number of scans within a folder
5. Have a pad beside you with a List and Check / Tick Box -
6. Work Your way through the many many scans you seem to have.
7. Depending on your computer set up and its power. You may be able to have 2 - 3 or even 4 RECAP files importing and indexing at a time. And over Night. So you can get on with something productive.
User avatar
Peyman Bashiri
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:32 pm
Full Name: Peyman Bashiri
Company Details: Aero Geometrics Canadian Z+F reseller
Company Position Title: Laser scanning and BIM Specialist
Country: Canada
Skype Name: pbashiri2003
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Vancouver,BC
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 19 times
Contact:

Re: Export of Leica Cyclone point cloud to separate ReCap files.

Post by Peyman Bashiri »

As far as I remember you can unify and reduce the size of point cloud in Cyclone. It is a bit tricky so Just make sure to do it on a copy of that modelspace. There is another problem, when you "Unified " you'd loose the mirror balls in Recap. It shouldn't be a big deal cause you are already reducing a great amount of data from 600gb to 10gb.
Another method I would do is while indexing in recap you can sub sample the data. You have to give it a try to get to your ideal 10GB though in both method.
Give me a call if you have any question. Where in Canada you are? I am based in Vancouver.

Peyman
User avatar
Scott.Warren
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 242
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 3:14 pm
Full Name: Scott Warren
Company Details: WSP Canada
Company Position Title: Project Manager - Geomatics Engineer
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 57 times
Contact:

Re: Export of Leica Cyclone point cloud to separate ReCap files.

Post by Scott.Warren »

One way to separate your clouds is to use the 'Create' button on the Limit Box Manager. You can specify a fixed spacing to create a set of limit boxes. These limit boxes can then be used single out uniform boxes of cloud data and separate them from the larger dataset. Better for Unified Datasets, and does a decent job of getting uniform clipping results.
Limitbox.PNG
More of a manual effort, but can help break up data.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
nlefebvre
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2021 9:07 pm
Full Name: Nathan
Company Details: Engineering Consulting
Company Position Title: Mechanical Designer
Country: Canada

Re: Export of Leica Cyclone point cloud to separate ReCap files.

Post by nlefebvre »

Thanks guys. Certainly have given me some good food for thought.

Appreciate it.
User avatar
Phill
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:19 am
Full Name: Phillip Nixon
Company Details: SKM
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Export of Leica Cyclone point cloud to separate ReCap files.

Post by Phill »

We did this the other day with lastile in lastools. Created a pts from a unified modelspace, used laszip to make las, lastile to grid into 10x10m squares then into recap as seperate las files. It even does a great job of naming them based on their coordinates.
Post Reply

Return to “Autodesk ReCap Studio”