Recap data quality depreciation at distance

Discuss all Autodesk ReCap Studio related issues here.
Post Reply
TheMolluscMan
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2021 10:27 am
Full Name: Tobias Trengove
Company Details: Socotec
Company Position Title: Socotec
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: No

Recap data quality depreciation at distance

Post by TheMolluscMan »

Helloooo,

I'm having issues with data quality in recap.

Our process is registering the scans (taken with an RTC 360) in Cyclone Register 360, exporting as an .E57 file, importing into Recap, skip registeration, and then export rcp from there.
This usually works completely fine for models involving a few scans.

However, not today! Our model of a big long wall (exciting stuff) with about 70 scans is being funny.
In Recap, the quality of the data seems to have depreciated, in particular in the scans a bit further from the wall. The data seems hazy and stripey, and the colour drained somewhat. Scans close to the wall are completely fine. The whole model looks fine in register 360 before the export.
When we imported the model we turned off the decimation grid, and didn't adjust the clipping.

Is there something wrong with it going into recap, or coming out of register 360?

Any help or information would be greatly appreciated!
User avatar
Daniel Wujanz
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2018 11:26 am
Full Name: Daniel Wujanz
Company Details: technet GmbH
Company Position Title: 3D Laser Scanning Specialist
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Berlin
Has thanked: 85 times
Been thanked: 56 times
Contact:

Re: Recap data quality depreciation at distance

Post by Daniel Wujanz »

Dear Tobias,

It could well be that your issue is related to an update of Register 360 some weeks ago. Some entries of the E57 header section were altered in comparison to the previous version. Yet, I have to check what exactly has changed.

I would go back to the previous version of 360 and re-export some of the scans. Then I'd have a cheeky look if the issue is still there.

All the best

Daniel

P.S. somebody appears to like the mighty boosh.... : )
TheMolluscMan
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2021 10:27 am
Full Name: Tobias Trengove
Company Details: Socotec
Company Position Title: Socotec
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Recap data quality depreciation at distance

Post by TheMolluscMan »

Hi Daniel,

Thanks for getting back to me!
I don't suppose you know if the update was automatic? because i don't think anyone in my company would have updated it. And if this is the case, we'd still be running an older version. Which in turn could actually be an issue anyway, cos heavens knows when it was last updated.

I think I may update it to give that a go, and revert back if it doesnt, as you suggest.

Look forward to the new issues this produces!

Cheers
Toby
P.S. haha good eye! love the boosh!
User avatar
Daniel Wujanz
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2018 11:26 am
Full Name: Daniel Wujanz
Company Details: technet GmbH
Company Position Title: 3D Laser Scanning Specialist
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Berlin
Has thanked: 85 times
Been thanked: 56 times
Contact:

Re: Recap data quality depreciation at distance

Post by Daniel Wujanz »

Dear Toby,

I can't tell if it was an automatic update or not, since we don't own a license of 360 - we're a software company ourselves. Typically, we are notified by our clients (who - please be surprised - also use other software) when funny things happen in the data flow department.

Alternatively, you could also import E57 files from other scanner manufacturers to see if the same effect occurs.

Sorry, that's all I can contribute for now.

Cheers

Daniel
User avatar
smacl
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 622
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:12 pm
Full Name: Shane MacLaughlin
Company Details: Atlas Computers Ltd
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Country: Ireland
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Ireland
Has thanked: 207 times
Been thanked: 199 times
Contact:

Re: Recap data quality depreciation at distance

Post by smacl »

Daniel Wujanz wrote: Mon Apr 26, 2021 11:29 amP.S. somebody appears to like the mighty boosh.... : )
Problems with a new release, it's an outrage! :D
Post Reply

Return to “Autodesk ReCap Studio”