Leica Scans in Autodesk ReCap

Discuss all Autodesk ReCap Studio related issues here.

Leica Scans in Autodesk ReCap

Postby SCCS HDS » Sat Sep 26, 2015 12:53 pm

How to import Leica scans in Autodesk ReCap


How to register Leica scans in Autodesk ReCap
SCCS - The Survey Equipment Company l Sales, Hire & Support l Leica HDS Laser Scanning
T: 01480 404888 l M: 07540 201383 l E: phil.marsh@sccssurvey.co.uk
W: www.sccsurvey.co.uk/hds l N: SCCS News l T: @SCCSHDS

Image
User avatar
SCCS HDS
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 9:30 am
Location: Barnsley, UK
Full Name: Phil Marsh
Company Details: SCCS
Company Position Title: HDS Manager
Country: UK
Skype Name: Phil.H.Marsh
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Leica Scans in Autodesk ReCap

Postby AETMineur » Sun Sep 27, 2015 6:26 am

Thank you for sharing!

I saw in your example that there are some scan location where you took scan+photo. Is ReCap colorize the point cloud as well?
AETMineur
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 6:15 am
Full Name: Renaud
Company Details: Survey Company
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: Belgium

Re: Leica Scans in Autodesk ReCap

Postby AETMineur » Sat Oct 03, 2015 10:41 am

Finally I tried to import raw scan like shown in the video, but the only thing that happen is the detection of the number of scan in the project. No points were loaded...
In other words, the "bubble views" are empty.

Have you ever experienced this problem?
AETMineur
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 6:15 am
Full Name: Renaud
Company Details: Survey Company
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: Belgium

Re: Leica Scans in Autodesk ReCap

Postby freddie@asbuilt » Sun Oct 04, 2015 10:44 pm

Is this only possible for P16 scanner? or also in P30 and P40.

Cheers!
Freddie
User avatar
freddie@asbuilt
I have made 30-40 posts
I have made 30-40 posts
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:26 pm
Full Name: Freddie Nodalo
Company Details: AsBuilt LTD
Company Position Title: HDS Technical Support
Country: New Zealand
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Leica Scans in Autodesk ReCap

Postby tomii7 » Mon Oct 05, 2015 11:41 am

Is this only possible for P16 scanner? or also in P30 and P40.


Currently, I'm using P20 and I see P16 and P20 (other P30/P40) have the same project structure- raw data and *.prj files.
After quick watching these videos, I would like to check registration module in recap. It looks OK.
--
regards,
Tomasz Gerlich

contact emails:
tomasz.gerlich[at]hobsstudio.com tomaszgerlich[at]gmail.com
Hobs Studio, Manchester
tomii7
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:38 am
Full Name: Tom Gerlich
Company Details: Hobs Studio
Company Position Title: laser scanning surveyor
Country: PL UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Leica Scans in Autodesk ReCap

Postby Ryan » Mon Oct 05, 2015 8:25 pm

At the moment, only P16 data is supported natively in ReCap (v2.1+). The file extensions are the same but the internals are different (my understanding).

Ryan
Ryan
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:29 pm
Full Name: Ryan Frenz
Company Details: Autodesk
Company Position Title: Engineering Manager - ReCap
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Leica Scans in Autodesk ReCap

Postby freddie@asbuilt » Tue Oct 06, 2015 4:25 am

Ryan wrote:At the moment, only P16 data is supported natively in ReCap (v2.1+). The file extensions are the same but the internals are different (my understanding).

Ryan

Hi Ryan,

You say "At the Moment", soon P30 and P40 data will be supported?

Thanks.
Freddie
User avatar
freddie@asbuilt
I have made 30-40 posts
I have made 30-40 posts
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:26 pm
Full Name: Freddie Nodalo
Company Details: AsBuilt LTD
Company Position Title: HDS Technical Support
Country: New Zealand
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Leica Scans in Autodesk ReCap

Postby tomii7 » Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:46 am

good to know there's a different in internal raw data.
You say "At the Moment", soon P30 and P40 data will be supported?

At this case, could be possible to support data from P20, too? Then we could have the whole P-series family ;-).
--
regards,
Tomasz Gerlich

contact emails:
tomasz.gerlich[at]hobsstudio.com tomaszgerlich[at]gmail.com
Hobs Studio, Manchester
tomii7
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:38 am
Full Name: Tom Gerlich
Company Details: Hobs Studio
Company Position Title: laser scanning surveyor
Country: PL UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Leica Scans in Autodesk ReCap

Postby Ryan » Tue Oct 06, 2015 6:05 pm

To be clear - I have no special knowledge of the Leica file formats. Autodesk has partnered with Leica to provide raw import of P16 data via an SDK. Support for other scanner models would be dependent on a similar agreement, not a purely technical thing.

Ryan
Ryan
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:29 pm
Full Name: Ryan Frenz
Company Details: Autodesk
Company Position Title: Engineering Manager - ReCap
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Leica Scans in Autodesk ReCap

Postby gusrios » Tue Mar 14, 2017 7:37 pm

Hello, Does anyone know if ReCap Pro now supports native format import for the Leica P40?

Thanks,

Gus
User avatar
gusrios
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 7:33 pm
Location: San Diego
Full Name: Gustavo Rios
Company Details: Rick Engineering
Company Position Title: Project Manager 3D Laser Scanning
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes


Return to Autodesk ReCap Studio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
SiteLock

Stay in touch    RSS feed    Twitter    Youtube    Linkedin

LSF SPONSOR

Accessibility | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy
DouZa Webdesign