Hope to be testing the new Render Node version

Discuss all Clouds2Max related issues here.
Post Reply
User avatar
ddustin
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 934
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:28 pm
Full Name: David Dustin
Company Details: WOTECH3D
Company Position Title: Engineering Director
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Georgia, USA.. Planet Earth
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Hope to be testing the new Render Node version

Post by ddustin »

If all goes well, I will be testing the Render node version of C2M soon.
The biggest concern is that my render nodes all have 8GB of RAM each, which is plenty for rendering animations, but might be too light for point clouds.
Hopefully I can test based on number of points to be rendered and have data to support it.
David
Global Director of Public Safety - Product Management

User avatar
Jason Warren
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 3454
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:21 am
Full Name: Jason Warren
Company Details: Laser Scanning Forum Ltd
Company Position Title: Co-Founder
Country: UK
Skype Name: jason_warren
Linkedin Profile: No
Location: Retford, UK
Has thanked: 91 times
Been thanked: 42 times
Contact:

Re: Hope to be testing the new Render Node version

Post by Jason Warren »

Hello David,
Can you tell me if the Render node version of C2M utilises Backburner for this? plus do you need to have a copy of the point cloud data set on each render node?
Jason Warren
jason.warren[at]laserscanningforum.com

Image
Please add a LSF Google Review here ;)
https://g.page/laser-scanning-forum-ltd/review?mp

User avatar
ddustin
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 934
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:28 pm
Full Name: David Dustin
Company Details: WOTECH3D
Company Position Title: Engineering Director
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Georgia, USA.. Planet Earth
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Hope to be testing the new Render Node version

Post by ddustin »

Jason,
Yes it should use Backburner.
You "should" be able to use a network asset as the repository of the file.
I would certainly hate to have to copy a pointcloud to each of the nodes.

What type of a render farm do you have?
I just brought my new 20 node, dual quad core farm online this last weekend.
On another note I saw where a company had a 4 node system with 8, 6 core processors (2 per node) with 24GB of RAM per node for $2500 USD.... Makes me weak in the knees
(note to self... NEED to convince my wife how badly I NEED one of these)
David
Global Director of Public Safety - Product Management

User avatar
ddustin
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 934
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:28 pm
Full Name: David Dustin
Company Details: WOTECH3D
Company Position Title: Engineering Director
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Georgia, USA.. Planet Earth
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Hope to be testing the new Render Node version

Post by ddustin »

We are very close to releasing the latest version of C2M.
The Netrender version has been tested and works well now.

My initial testing shows that you should be able to render a 100 million point cloud equipped with 8GB of RAM.
Basically for every 17 million points (the size of my test file) you can assume an additional 1 GB of RAM is required to render (with Mental Ray and without shadows).
We are using Backburner and a pointcloud that is a network asset (so all nodes can access it).
We have squashed quite a few bugs and hopefully not introduced any new ones.

There is a new licensing Scheme as well that is much more user friendly.
As we get closer we will update you here and we will be sending out an email to our customer base.

David
Global Director of Public Safety - Product Management

Post Reply

Return to “Clouds2Max”