Apply full 360 dome image to pointcloud

Please show us your 360० Panoramas Movies and Images
Post Reply
b_clive
I have made 50-60 posts
I have made 50-60 posts
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:42 am
Full Name: Clive Bugeja
Company Details: ARC International Surveyors Ltd.
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Malta

Apply full 360 dome image to pointcloud

Post by b_clive »

Hi everyone,
i would like to know if there is any way possible to apply the full 360 panoramic dome image to a pointcloud for texturing.
im using leica cyclone 7.2 as processing software .

thanks
Clive

User avatar
Morky
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 1:50 pm
Full Name: Paul Moorcroft
Company Details: Derbyshire Constabulary
Company Position Title: Forensic Collision Investigator
Country: England
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Ripley

Re: Apply full 360 dome image to pointcloud

Post by Morky »

b_clive wrote:Hi everyone,
i would like to know if there is any way possible to apply the full 360 panoramic dome image to a pointcloud for texturing.
im using leica cyclone 7.2 as processing software .

thanks
Clive

Clive,
What are you using to capture the 360 pano? There is a way of importing cube face images within Cyclone but we have had not the best results with it.
We use a C10 scanner and an iStar 360 camera with an adapter pole to raise it to the same height as the laser on the C10. Its a case of doing the scan, leave the tripod in place but take the C10 off the tribrac and replace with the iStar and capture the pano. We then use the software for the iStar to export the pano to 'cube faces' then import into the scans in Cyclone.
All sounds very impressive, however the results suffer with paralaxing, whereby the overlayed iStar image appears to overlap and be out of sync with the cloud data when viewed from different angles. :(
That is where we were until the super people at NCTech who manufacture the iStar have come up with their own RGB overlay for solving the problem.
If you go to http://www.nctechimaging.com you will see information and videos on this. I can certainly recommend the iStar as a super piece of kit.

Please feel free to ask further questions. :)

Regards

Paul
"The true sign of intelligence is not knowledge but imagination." - Albert Einstein

jehernandezl
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 8:21 am
Full Name: Jorge Hernandez
Company Details: UNAL Colombia
Company Position Title: Student
Country: Colombia
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Apply full 360 dome image to pointcloud

Post by jehernandezl »


mike annear
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 524
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 5:45 am
Full Name: Mike Annear
Company Details: Mike Annear
Company Position Title: 3D Modeler
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: On an island off Brisbane ...
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 19 times
Contact:

Re: Apply full 360 dome image to pointcloud

Post by mike annear »

Hi Clive,
It can be done very effectively in Cyclone using a Nodal Ninja camera set up.
I have attached the workflow,
Regards,
Mike.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

jmiranda
I have made 80-90 posts
I have made 80-90 posts
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:02 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Miranda
Company Details: IDOT
Company Position Title: Engineering Technician Senior
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: IA

Re: Apply full 360 dome image to pointcloud

Post by jmiranda »

Hi everybody!
I have a question regarding the iStar camera. I understand that using the proprietary software you can assign new rgb values to the pointcloud. But, can you have those new rgb values used back in Cyclone and then published using Leica TruView? or will it only be usable on the iStar software using the iStarShare?

Kind Regards,
Jon

User avatar
Leap3D
I have made 80-90 posts
I have made 80-90 posts
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 3:50 pm
Full Name: Bas Notenboom
Company Details: Leap3D
Company Position Title: owner
Country: nl
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Apply full 360 dome image to pointcloud

Post by Leap3D »

You will have to export an .e57 file. The e57 and the iSTAR image are processed in NCTech Colourcloud and will produce an HDR point cloud in e57 format.
You can then import the e57 into Cyclone.

Regards
Bas

Post Reply

Return to “360० Panoramas”