Placing vehicles into a Leica pointcloud

Discuss all Forensics & CSI related issues here.
Post Reply
Spwilka
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2019 7:45 pm
Full Name: Alison Wilkes
Company Details: NYSP
Company Position Title: Analyst
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Placing vehicles into a Leica pointcloud

Post by Spwilka »

I've seen others post similar issues, but havent really heard a solution.

I have two vehicles and a scan scene.

I need to place the vehicles, (which were scanned in separate locations from the scene scan) into the scene. everything was scanned using Leica scanners and the pointclouds /modelspaces are registered in Leica Cyclone with modules register and survey.

I need the ability to move the cars in the scene and get different measurements from a specific viewpoint.

After speaking with a Leica Rep, I've been told that I can simply copy and paste the car modelspaces into the scene pointcloud, but the issue becomes not having the ability to move it. This could be a user error or maybe Leica can't handle moving data that isn't a simple model?

I've tried using CloudCompare, but I cannot get the viewpoint that I need accurately from Cloudcompare.

Also, would Leica IMS360 help in anyway?

User avatar
caddrafting2013
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:20 am
Full Name: Adam
Company Details: ADB3D Pty Ltd
Company Position Title: Director - Revit and Laser scanning
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Sydney
Been thanked: 5 times

Placing vehicles into a Leica pointcloud

Post by caddrafting2013 »

Place the scene into Revit or Autocad and move the cars to match the scene?

No need for CloudCompare on this one

Raymond
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2018 6:15 pm
Full Name: Ramon F Herrera
Company Details: FOSS 3D Model of Dealey Plaza
Company Position Title: Founder - Sole Active Person so far
Country: US
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: Placing vehicles into a Leica pointcloud

Post by Raymond »

Spwilka wrote:
Tue Dec 24, 2019 6:42 pm
I've seen others post similar issues, but havent really heard a solution.

I have two vehicles and a scan scene.

I need to place the vehicles, (which were scanned in separate locations from the scene scan) into the scene. everything was scanned using Leica scanners and the pointclouds /modelspaces are registered in Leica Cyclone with modules register and survey.

I need the ability to move the cars in the scene and get different measurements from a specific viewpoint.

After speaking with a Leica Rep, I've been told that I can simply copy and paste the car modelspaces into the scene pointcloud, but the issue becomes not having the ability to move it. This could be a user error or maybe Leica can't handle moving data that isn't a simple model?

I've tried using CloudCompare, but I cannot get the viewpoint that I need accurately from Cloudcompare.

Also, would Leica IMS360 help in anyway?
Please see my related post:

https://www.laserscanningforum.com/foru ... 69&t=15645

I have some experience in the post-scanning tasks. See here:

http://www.dealey-plaza.org/your-design ... e_Limo.mp4

This is my recommendation, after much experimentation:

Point Cloud -> Revit -> 3ds Max

If you want to impress, you need to add V-ray rendering.

In Freelancer you get the best possible value.

-Ramon
JFK Numbers
[email protected]
Last edited by Raymond on Wed Dec 25, 2019 6:29 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Raymond
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2018 6:15 pm
Full Name: Ramon F Herrera
Company Details: FOSS 3D Model of Dealey Plaza
Company Position Title: Founder - Sole Active Person so far
Country: US
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: Placing vehicles into a Leica pointcloud

Post by Raymond »

I don't have much experience with 3ds Max, but was able to add the two mailboxes and the Hertz Clock to the master scene:

Rendering No. 1.jpg
Rendering No. 5.jpg

-Ramon F Herrera
JFK Numbers
[email protected]
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Phill
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:19 am
Full Name: Phillip Nixon
Company Details: SKM
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Placing vehicles into a Leica pointcloud

Post by Phill »

Alison

Your problem is cyclone licences. You need a model licence to move objects in cyclone.

Phill

User avatar
gsisman
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:51 pm
Full Name: Steve Long
Company Details: Montgomery County DOT _ MD
Company Position Title: Land Survey Supervisor
Country: United States
Skype Name: gsisman1
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 138 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: Placing vehicles into a Leica pointcloud

Post by gsisman »

Phill wrote:
Wed Dec 25, 2019 9:18 pm
Alison

Your problem is cyclone licences. You need a model licence to move objects in cyclone.

Phill
Yeah, those pesky add-on licenses to perform one task. Is it worth $8500 ? :x

User avatar
Phill
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:19 am
Full Name: Phillip Nixon
Company Details: SKM
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Placing vehicles into a Leica pointcloud

Post by Phill »

Haha, yeah.... I wonder if it would be more popular if it was a bit cheaper (like $8000 cheaper). Such a waste of a pretty good modelling program (in my opinion anyway, I'm sure others will chime in).

Post Reply

Return to “Forensics & CSI”