Any experience scanning footprints in sand?

Discuss all Forensics & CSI related issues here.
Simon.
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Full Name: Simon Colwill
Company Details: Murdoch University
Company Position Title: Student
Linkedin Profile: No

Any experience scanning footprints in sand?

Post by Simon. »

Hi all, new to the forum, but can't find any discussion regarding to scanning a footwear impression in quite sandy substrates. I'm a Forensic student from Perth in Western Australia, and our soils are super sandy, so when we get impressions, they can't be cast, or measured in any way other than photographs as a general rule.

I'm putting together a kinect-based scanner as a project, as well as using a Faro Freestyle to scan some impressions and see how they measure up, but don't particularly expect to get great ridge detail on the prints. Does anybody have any experience measuring impressions either in sandy soils, or with specific devices that could offer some advice on the best device or technique to use?

I'm aware better scanners exist for fine detail scanning (like the Artec Spider) but I have a pretty limited budget to go on unfortunately.

Thanks!
MStrahan
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Full Name: Matthew Strahan
Company Details: Freelancing
Company Position Title: Laser Scanning Wizard
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Any experience scanning footprints in sand?

Post by MStrahan »

Have you considered using photogrammetry? It's often the cheapest way to go for non-contact digitisation and can yield pretty good results if you take enough quality images for the software to work with.
Simon.
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts

Post by Simon. »